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Introduction

Southern Connecticut State University’s mission is to provide exemplary graduate and
undergraduate education in the liberal arts and professional disciplines. As an intentionally
diverse and comprehensive university, Southern is committed to academic excellence, access,
social justice, and service for the public good. SCSU enrolls approximately 10,000 full and part-
time undergraduates and graduate students. SCSU has approximately 2,600 students who live
on campus in nine residence halls and townhouse apartments. The educational enterprise of
Southern consists of 420 talented full-time faculty, and 531 devoted full-time staff members
along with 529 part-time faculty and 225 part- time-staff. Southern Connecticut State University

is a student-centered institution which regards student success as its highest priority.

In an effort to fulfill our mission and provide optimum an environment for learning, Southern
Connecticut State University (SCSU) is committed to creating a campus free of sexual violence.
The University continues to dedicate significant resources to become more knowledgeable of
best practices; understand our current climate; comply with federal, state and CSCU Board of
Regents laws and policies; increase awareness and streamline processes for reporting; promote
victim support services; evaluate and enhance our systems of response, investigation and
adjudication; and, educate faculty, staff and students on prevention and intervention initiatives.
Through these efforts it is our goal to create a campus environment where every member of our
community understands his/her role to reduce, and ultimately eliminate, sexual violence at

Southern.

As part of Southern Connecticut State University’s ongoing effort to address sexual misconduct
within our community the following report is issued to present data and information in an effort
to provide greater transparency about the frequency of reporting/disclosing sexual misconduct
within our community and the ways in which we address sexual misconduct on our campus.
This report summarizes sexual misconduct disclosures and reports made to the University from
January 1, 2018 through December 31, 2018, ongoing preventions and risk reduction programs
and campaigns, as well university policies relating to sexual misconduct and support resources
offered to students and employees both on and off campus. SCSU is committed to providing a
safe environment in which all community members can pursue education and employment free

from sexual discrimination/violence.



I. SCSU policies regarding Sexual assault. Stalking. and Intimate partner violence

Copies of the following policies regarding Sexual assault, Stalking, and Intimate partner are
available in the appendix A. These policies include:

e BOR/CSCU Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy
http://www.ct.edu/files/policies/5.2%20Ssexual%20misconduct%?20reporting%20support%
20and%?20processes.pdf

¢ BOR/CSCU Policy on Consensual Relationships
https://www2.southernct.edu/faculty-staff/hr/Consensual-Relationships-Policy.pdf

e BOR/CSCU Policy Regarding Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child

http://www.ct.edu/files/pdfs/hr-policy-reporting-suspected-abuse.pdf

¢ BOR/CSCU Student Code of Conduct :
http://www.ct.edu/files/policies/5.1%20StudentCodeofConduct.pdf

II. Written Notifications of the rights

The University recognizes the importance of dialogue about the topic of sexual discrimination/
violence. One way to keep this topic present is to communicate often about the University’s
policies, support services, and resources. Throughout this reporting year, various mechanisms
were used to communicate sexual misconduct information to students and employees as well as
provide data to the community. These mechanisms include Campus emails, distributions of

Support and Resource Team (SART) brochure https://www2.southernct.edu/vpas/sart.html

University programs and training, the University’s Annual Crime Report

https://www?2.southernct.edu/university-police/clery-report.html and the General Assembly

Report on Sexual Misconduct. In addition the University also maintains a comprehensive website

https://inside.southernct.edu/sexual-misconduct that provides resources, reporting options, and

policy information for the community. Appendix A provides sample communication e-mails
about University policy and most important resources/reporting options. Lawn signs, electronic

boards, bulletin boards, and social media were also engaged.

III.&IV. Prevention. Awareness. and Risk Reduction Programs and Campaigns

SCSU understands the importance of providing prevention and awareness programs to all
students, faculty and staff in order to foster a positive, respectful, and safe climate for the entire
community Prevention, awareness and risk reduction programs and campaigns are provided to
the campus community throughout the year. Appendix B provides a summary of the

programming for 2018.



Student Training and Education

At the beginning of each academic year, the University launches, an educational training
program on sexual assault and relationship violence. For the 2018-2019 academic year
the University began using Not Anymore. New students were required to complete an on-
line training module that covers definitions, bystander intervention, and campus-specific
policies and resources. This online course offers a thoughtful and educational curriculum
that addresses the important life skills regarding sexual assault, sexual harassment,
domestic violence, dating violence and stalking. It provides the education and tools
needed to build and sustain healthy relationships, as well as ways to safely intervene as a
bystander. In an effort to work together to build and maintain a healthy, safe campus

community that supports the well-being of all.

Employee Training and Education

All Faculty and staff also are also required to complete an on-line module that focuses on the
same material from the perspective of the employee. Not Anymore for Employees, is an online
program designed to educate employees on how to effectively respond to reports of sexual
misconduct from students and employees. This video-based program provides critical
information about the prevalence of sexual misconduct including sexual harassment and
discrimination, intimate partner violence, prevention, bystander intervention, trauma informed
responses, campus specific policies and reporting procedures, and much more. Not Anymore
provides employees a better understand how vitally important they are in addressing sexual
misconduct, helping those directly impacted by it, and making campus safer for students and
employees alike. In addition to the online training the University also provides an in-person
sexual harassment prevention training as part of the Civility and Respect on campus which is

mandatory training for all new faculty and staff.

Campus Programs and Campaigns

Recognizing that programing is not as effective when done simply at one point in time, the
University provides a number of different avenues and venues to offer on-going education. Many
of these programs are delivered throughout the year through our Violence Prevention, Victim
Advocacy, and Support Center. They cover such topics as policy and definitions, bystander
interventions, risk reduction, and options for reporting and advocacy. These programs included
both small scale programs in our residential areas as well as large scale programs such as our

Annual “Take Back the Night,”



To complement in-person programs, the University provided on-going passive programs and
campaigns that allow for the dialogue on sexual misconduct to permeate throughout the entire
community. Campaigns include educational messaging, highlighting resources, reporting
options, and bystander campaigns. Southern participates in the nationally recognized “It's On Us
Campaign,” aimed at raising awareness and encouraging students to take a stand against sexual
violence. This year Southern created an “It’s on US” video featuring SCSU students. The video
is available for viewing on the University’s website. Southern also conducted a “Red Flag
Campaign,” which is aimed at providing awareness of the signs of unhealthy relationships, and

support

In addition to all of the programming, both active and passive, we staff a fully functioning
Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support Center (VPAS) to offer students, faculty,
and staff a place to go to get information, access on-campus and community resources, and/or
receive advocacy support services. This Center is committed to helping to create a campus
community of respect and safety by raising awareness, providing education, supporting victims,
and training for intervention. Some of the primary areas of focus for VPAS include the
following:
¢ Building and sustaining healthy relationships with intimate partners, friends, fellow
students, and university community members;
e Understanding sexual misconduct and consent;
e Promoting sexual misconduct campus and community advocates, resources, reporting
options, and Title IX rights;
¢ Identifying perpetrator behavior and providing risk reduction tips;
e Providing tools to safely intervene as a bystander; and,
e Communicating the rights available for survivors of criminal acts.
The Center is staffed with two full-time advocates and a graduate intern. In addition to assisting
community members during normal business hours, the advocates serve on an on-call basis to
provide coverage 24 hours a day to support SCSU students who wish to seek the advocacy and

support services of the Center.

The Coordinator of the Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support Center also serves as
the Coordinator of the SCSU Support and Resource Team (SART). SART is designed to provide
a collaborative, victim-centered, team response to sexual misconduct. The mission of SART is to

provide services that ensure a transition from victim to survivor for every individual whose life is
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directly impacted by sexual misconduct. SART members can provide or connect a survivor with
many supportive options including counseling, medical attention, judicial services, advocacy,
law enforcement, referrals, and general information regarding sexual violence. The team includes
a coordinator and twenty-six faculty and staff members throughout the University who are
trained to support survivors of sexual misconduct. In addition, the Support and Resource Team
has developed a concise informational pamphlet that outlines definitions, as well as reporting,

support and advocacy options for students (see Appendix B).

It is not only important to provide information to the community but it is equally crucial to
gather information from the community to understand the climate in which faculty, staff, and
students work, live, study, and play. In fall 2017, the President's Commission on Social Justice
administered a campus-wide climate survey. The survey examined individuals experience and
perceptions in several areas/factors. Two of the factors examine were (1.) the Institutional
response to sexual assault and (2) individual’s response to sexual assault. Specifically the survey
examine student and employee’s perception of their role and the institutions role in response to
sexual assault. Faculty and staff responses indicated their level of agreement with: understanding
their role in response to sexual assault; knowing how to direct students and colleagues to
resources; knowing where to go to get help at the institution; and understanding institution
formal complaint procedures. The Student survey examined student’s perception of the
institutions policies, procedures/practices and resources related to sexual assault. This
information from the survey has helped the University understand how our community views the
climate of the campus regarding sexual assault and also provides data to direct the University in

how to better assist the community and work towards a safer climate on our campus.

Strong policies, effective programs, supportive resources, on-going communication, and the
collection of data to inform decision-making, it is imperative to provide ongoing and appropriate
training to our employees. This training should not only include training on our policies and
support resources for all employees but should also include specific training for individuals who
are responsible for investigations and adjudication of cases as well as those who serve on
resource teams and in advocacy centers. Southern staff members have participated in several
system wide training that have been offered as part of a U.S Department of Justice Grant
awarded to the Connecticut State Colleges and University known as the CSCU SAFE. In

addition, two Southern staff members serve as SAFE Grant committee members.



V. Incidents of Sexual assault. stalking and intimate partner violence Reported

As part of Southern Connecticut State University’s policy on Sexual Misconduct, Sexual Assault
and Intimate Partner Violence, the University strongly encourages the reporting of all sexual
misconduct incidents. As such, the policy identifies that all University employees are considered
to be responsible employees, with the exception of health providers, professional counselors, and
pastoral counselors whose official responsibilities include providing mental-health counseling to
members of the University community. As responsible employees, individuals have a duty to
report to the Title IX Coordinator all details regarding incidents of sexual misconduct that are
reported or disclosed to them. This mandate is to assure that the University provides all survivors
with support by providing reporting options, access to advocacy and support services/resources,
and access to appropriate academic, transportation, work, and housing accommodations.
Recognizing the importance of survivors having the option to discuss these concerns
confidentially, SCSU provides information to all students identifying confidential reporting

options.

During the 2018 calendar year, 92 incidents of sexual misconduct (sexual assault, intimate
partner violence, or stalking) were reported/disclosed to the Title IX Coordinator (see Table
below) Of the 92 incidents, 16 were reports and 76 were disclosures. A disclosure is a
communication of an incident to a responsible employee that is not accompanied by a request for
an investigation or adjudication. A report is a disclosure with an immediate request for an
investigation and adjudication. Both reports and disclosures may be accompanied by a request

for accommodations and referrals for services/support.

Incidents of Sexual Assault, Stalking and IPV Reported to SCSU in 2018

Number of Incidents Incident Reported Respondent Respondent Confidential or
Type of Reported to Have Occurred Identified as Identified as Anonymous
Incident in 2018 Connected to the Connected to Reports
Reporting CSCU Institution
Institution
Sexual Assault 43 29 10 5
Stalking 11 9 6
Intimate
Partner 38 30 5 1
Violence (IPV)




While knowing how many reports/disclosures were made in a given year is important
information, it is also constructive to have a better understanding what comprises these numbers.
The total reported incidence in the table above includes all matters reported or disclosed to the
institution regardless of location (on or off campus) and regardless of year of the incident (i.e.
incidents from childhood, high school). Additionally many sexual misconduct disclosures

involved non SCSU student respondents or identity of the respondent was not disclosed.

One of the first steps in addressing sexual misconduct disclosures and reports is to offer the
complainant resources and support. This can come in many different ways depending on the
needs and desire of the complainant. First and foremost, we provide the complainant with
reporting options and support and advocacy services. Student complainants are offered services
through the University’s Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support Center while
faculty and staff may receive resource and support services through the Human Resources Office.
Students may also access other support services such as Counseling Services, the Student Health
Center, and the Dean of Students Office. In an effort to also offer students the opportunity to
access services and support off campus, the University has a memorandum of understanding with
the Umbrella Center for Domestic Violence Services and the Women and Families Center. These
agreements articulate our joint commitment to working together to provide trauma-informed

services for our students and employees.

An additional way the University provides support for the complainant is to offer interim
measures or accommodations. These are steps taken by the University to provide safety and
well- being for the complainant or the community as a whole. These can include actions such as
no- contact orders between parties, bans from a University building/area or the campus as a
whole, changes to academic schedules and housing arrangements, as well as interim
suspensions/administrative leaves. Interim measures are considered and offered when
information is brought to the Title IX Coordinator, whether or not a complainant wishes to move
forward with a formal complaint. As the nature of each situation is different, interim measures
are determined on a case-by-case basis and are meant to put the least possible burden on the

complainant.

Southern Connecticut State University recognizes that individuals who experience sexual
misconduct often experience trauma and significant disruption to their lives. The University also
acknowledges that although reporting incidents of sexual misconduct may be empowering and

healing for some, many may choose not to request investigation and action. Understanding that
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how and when a person heals from a traumatizing event such as sexual misconduct is an
individualized process, Southern supports survivors in their autonomy to make the appropriate

decisions for their own well-being while balancing the safety of the community at large.

Anonymous and Confidential Reports orDisclosures

In addition to reporting/disclosing incidents of sexual misconduct directly or through third
parties, SCSU community members also have the opportunity to anonymously or confidentially
disclose or report an incident of sexual misconduct. This can be accomplished through our silent

witness reporting option.

Each case of sexual misconduct is different and the actions taken vary from case to case
depending on multiple factors. With this in mind, the University’s process for responding to a
report may include 1) the provision of confidential support and resources, 2) the issuance of
interim measures, 3) an informal resolution, 4) an investigation and findings, 5)
sanctions/disciplinary action, and/or 6) an appeal of the investigation findings and sanctions. In
considering the most appropriate action to be taken, two of the most important factors include the
information that is available and the complainant’s willingness to be involved in the
investigation. For example, if a student comes forward and discloses that he/she has been
sexually assaulted but either does not wish to identify the respondent or cannot identify the
respondent, the Title IX Officer will follow-up to try to obtain information; however, generally it
is not possible to investigate without information or the willingness of the complainant. In these
cases, the Title IX Coordinator would ensure that resources and support have been offered to the
complainant, including interim accommodations, and ensure that the complainant understands
he/she may bring this information forward at any time at which point the institution will take

further action.

The decision to conduct a formal investigation is determined either by the complainant or by the
University if the information that is available can be acted on and is deemed a potential threat to
the university community. In cases where the complainant is reluctant to participate and/or to be
identified as having come forward, it can be difficult to complete the investigation. In situations
in which the complainant or the University moves to a formal investigation/finding, the process

utilized depends on whether the respondent is a member of the faculty/staff or a student.



The CSCU Student Code of Conduct outlines the policies, procedures, and sanctioning process

for student respondents. In these cases, the Office of Student Conduct and Civic Responsibility

conducts the investigations. Once the investigation is completed, the respondent is presented

with the finding and outcome. Findings are determined utilizing a preponderance of the evidence

standard. If the respondent agrees to what is presented, the case is concluded. If the respondent

does not accept the finding of the investigation, the case then goes to a formal hearing process.

Sanctions resulting from findings of responsibility vary based on the nature of the incident and

may result in sanctions up to and including suspension and expulsion from the university. During

the 2018 calendar year there were 16 reports in total in which the complainant requested

investigation and/or disciplinary action. The table below summarize disciplinary and appeal

outcomes for cases in which the respondent was a student.

Disciplinary Cases Resulting from Investigations of Sexual Assault, Stalking and Intimate Partner Violence

Type of Finding of No | Finding of Finding of Finding of Number of | Appeal
Incident Number of Violation or | Responsible | Responsible Responsible & Findings | Outcome
Investigations Not & Expulsion & Probation/ Appealed
Responsible Suspension Warning

Sexual 10 3 3 4

Assault

Stalking 1 1

Intimate

Partner 5 1 2 2

Violence (IPV)

Cases related to sexual violence (employees)

If the respondent is an employee, the procedures followed are articulated by the University’s

Procedures for Discrimination and Harassment Complaints. In these cases the investigations are

conducted by the Office of Diversity and Equity. The Office of Diversity and Equity submits its

finding to the University President and Human Resources Department. Findings are determined

utilizing a preponderance of the evidence standard. The Human Resources Department then

follows the respective Collective Bargaining Agreement process with relation to discipline.

Outcomes are based on the nature of the incident and may include outcomes such as a letter of

reprimand, suspension or termination.




Conclusion

The University hopes that the information contained in this report is helpful to the University
community and those interested in this important topic on university campuses. This report is not
completely exhaustive regarding the many important aspects of Southern Connecticut State
University’s program to combat sexual misconduct on our campus, but is meant to provide
insight into this crucial work. For more information including definitions, resources, reporting

options, and processes, please visit the SCSU sexual misconduct website, or contact the Title IX

Coordinator, the Office of Diversity and Equity, the Dean of Students, and/or the Violence

Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support Center.

Appendix A
Policies and written notifications Regarding Sexual Assault, Stalking and Intimate

Partner Violence

Appendix B

Public Awareness, Prevention, and Risk Reduction Information

Appendix C

Other Supplemental Information
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APPENDIX A
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Intimate Partner Violence



5.2 | Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and 16-067 2016-06-16
Processes

5.2 Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy

Statement of Policy

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) in conjunction with the Connecticut State Colleges
and Universities (CSCU) is committed to insuring that each member of every BOR governed college
and university community has the opportunity to participate fully in the process of education and
development. The BOR and CSCU strive to maintain a safe and welcoming environment free from
acts of sexual misconduct, intimate partner violence and stalking. It is the intent of the BOR and each
of its colleges or universities to provide safety, privacy and support to victims of sexual misconduct
and intimate partner violence.

The BOR strongly encourages victims to report any instance of sexual misconduct, including sexual
harassment, sexual assault, sexual exploitation, stalking and intimate partner violence, as an effective
means of taking action by reporting such acts to the appropriate officials and pursuing criminal or
disciplinary remedies, or both. The only way that action can be taken against anyone who violates
another in such a manner is through reporting. Each and every BOR governed college and university
shall provide those who report sexual misconduct with many supportive options, including referral to
agencies that provide medical attention, counseling, legal services, advocacy, referrals and general
information regarding sexual misconduct. Each and every BOR governed college and university will
preserve the confidentiality of those who report sexual misconduct to the fullest extent possible and
allowed by law. All BOR and CSCU employees, victim support persons and community victim
advocates being consulted will make any limits of confidentiality clear before any disclosure of facts
takes place. Other than confidential resources as defined above, in addition to employees who qualify
as Campus Security Authorities under the Jeanne Clery Act, all BOR and CSCU employees are
required to immediately communicate to the institution’s designated recipient any disclosure or report
of sexual misconduct received from a student as well as communicate any disclosure or report of
sexual misconduct the employee received from another employee when misconduct is related to the
business of the institution.

Affirmative consent must be given by all parties before engaging in sexual activity. Affirmative
consent means an active, clear and voluntary agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity with
another person. Sexual misconduct, as defined herein, is a violation of BOR policies and, in
addition, may subject an accused student or employee to criminal penalties. The BOR and each of its
governed colleges and universities are committed to providing an environment free of personal
offenses. Sexual relationships of any kind between staff/faculty and students are discouraged
pursuant to BOR policy.

The Board of Regents for Higher Education hereby directs the Connecticut State Colleges and
Universities to implement the Policy stated above pursuant to the following provisions:

Terms, Usage and Standards



Sexual Misconduct Reporting
Support Services and Processes Policy

Consent must be affirmed and given freely, willingly, and knowingly of each participant to desired
sexual involvement. Consent is a mutually affirmative, conscious decision — indicated clearly by
words or actions — to engage in mutually accepted sexual contact. Consent may be revoked at any
time during the sexual activity by any person engaged in the activity.

Affirmative consent may never be assumed because there is no physical resistance or other negative
response. A person who initially consents to sexual activity shall be deemed not to have affirmatively
consented to any such activity which occurs after that consent is withdrawn. It is the responsibility
of each person to assure that he or she has the affirmative consent of all persons engaged in the sexual
activity to engage in the sexual activity and that affirmative consent is sustained throughout the sexual
activity. It shall not be a valid excuse to an alleged lack of affirmative consent that the student or
employee responding to the alleged violation believed that the student reporting or disclosing the
alleged violation consented to the activity (i) because the responding student or employee was
intoxicated or reckless or failed to take reasonable steps to ascertain whether the student or employee
reporting or disclosing the alleged violation affirmatively consented, or (ii) if the responding student
or employee knew or should have known that the student or employee reporting or disclosing the
alleged violation was unable to consent because the student or employee was unconscious, asleep,
unable to communicate due to a mental or physical condition, or incapacitated due to the influence of
drugs, alcohol or medication. The existence of a past or current dating or sexual relationship between
the persons involved in the alleged violation shall not be determinative of a finding of affirmative
consent.

Report of sexual misconduct is the receipt of a communication of an incident of sexual misconduct
accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

Disclosure is the receipt of any communication of an incident of sexual misconduct that is not
accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

Sexual misconduct includes engaging in any of the following behaviors:

(a) Sexual harassment, which can include any unwelcome sexual advance or request for sexual
favors, or any conduct of a sexual nature when submission to such conduct is made either
explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual’s education or employment;
submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for academic or
employment decisions affecting the individual; or such conduct has the purpose or effect of
substantially interfering with an individual’s academic or work performance or creating an
intimidating, hostile or offensive educational or employment environment. Examples of conduct
which may constitute sexual harassment include but are not limited to:

e sexual flirtation, touching, advances or propositions

e verbal abuse of a sexual nature

e pressure to engage in sexual activity

e graphic or suggestive comments about an individual’s dress or appearance
e use of sexually degrading words to describe an individual

e display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures or photographs

2
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Sexual Misconduct Reporting
Support Services and Processes Policy

e sexual jokes

e stereotypic comments based upon gender

e threats, demands or suggestions that retention of one’s educational status is
contingent upon toleration of or acquiescence in sexual advances.

Retaliation is prohibited and occurs when a person is subjected to an adverse employment or
educational action because he or she made a complaint under this policy or assisted or participated in
any manner in an investigation.

(b) Sexual assault shall include but is not limited to a sexual act directed against another person
without the consent (as defined herein) of the other person or when that person is not capable
of giving such consent:

Sexual assault is further defined in sections 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b
and 53a-73a of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(c) Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes non-consensual or abusive sexual advantage of
another for anyone’s advantage or benefit other than the person being exploited, and that behavior
does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual misconduct offenses. Examples of
behavior that could rise to the level of sexual exploitation include:

* Prostituting another person;

* Non-consensual visual (e.g., video, photograph) or audio-recording of sexual activity;

* Non-consensual distribution of photos, other images, or information of an individual’s
sexual activity, intimate body parts, or nakedness, with the intent to or having the effect
of embarrassing an individual who is the subject of such images or information;

* Going beyond the bounds of consent (for example, an individual who allows friends to
hide in the closet to watch him or her having consensual sex);

* Engaging in non-consensual voyeurism;

* Knowingly transmitting an STI, such as HIV to another without disclosing your STI
status;

* Exposing one’s genitals in non-consensual circumstances, or inducing another to
expose his or her genitals; or

» Possessing, distributing, viewing or forcing others to view illegal pornography.

Sexual exploitation is further defined as a crime in Connecticut State Law.

(d) Intimate partner, domestic and/or dating violence means any physical or sexual harm against
an individual by a current or former spouse of or person in a dating or cohabitating relationship
with such individual that results from any action by such spouse or such person that may be
classified as a sexual assault under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b
or 53a-73a of the general statutes, stalking under section 53a-181c, 53a-181d or 53a-181e of the
general statutes, or domestic or family violence as designated under section 46b-38h of the
general statutes. This includes any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or
former spouse or by a partner in a dating relationship that results from (1) sexual assault (2)

3
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Sexual Misconduct Reporting
Support Services and Processes Policy

sexual assault in a spousal or cohabiting relationship; (3) domestic violence; (4) sexual
harassment (5) sexual exploitation, as such terms are defined in this policy.

Offenses that are designated as “domestic violence” are against family or household members or
persons in dating or cohabitating relationships and include assaults, sexual assaults, stalking, and
violations of protective or restraining orders issued by a Court. Intimate partner violence may
also include physical abuse, threat of abuse, and emotional abuse.

e Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to, slapping, pulling hair or punching.

e Threat of abuse includes but is not limited to, threatening to hit, harm or use a weapon
on another (whether victim or acquaintance, friend or family member of the victim) or
other forms of verbal threat.

e Emotional abuse includes but is not limited to, damage to one’s property, driving
recklessly to scare someone, name calling, threatening to hurt one’s family members or
pets and humiliating another person.

e Cohabitation occurs when two individuals dwell together in the same place as if married.

e The determination of whether a “dating relationship” existed is to be based upon the
following factors: the reporting victim’s statement as to whether such a relationship
existed, the length of the relationship, the type of the relationship and the frequency of
the interaction between the persons reported to be involved in the relationship.

(e) Stalking, which is defined as repeatedly contacting another person when contacting person
knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the other person; and the contact causes
the other person reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or the contacting
person knows or should know that the contact causes substantial impairment of the other
person’s ability to perform the activities of daily life.

As used in this definition, the term “contacting” includes, but is not limited to, communicating
with (including internet communication via e-mail, instant message, on- line community or any
other internet communication) or remaining in the physical presence of the other person.

Confidentiality

When a BOR governed college or university receives a report of sexual misconduct all reasonable
steps will be taken by the appropriate CSCU officials to preserve the privacy of the reported victim
while promptly investigating and responding to the report. While the institution will strive to maintain
the confidentiality of personally identifiable student information reported, which information is
subject to privacy requirements of the Family Education Rights Privacy Act (FERPA), the institution
also must fulfill its duty to protect the campus community.

Confidential resources are defined as follows: For the Universities, entities with statutory privilege,
which include campus based counseling center, health center and pastoral counseling staff members
whose official responsibilities include providing mental health counseling to members of the
University community as well as off campus counseling and psychological services, health services
providers, member(s) of the clergy, and the local Sexual Assault Crisis Center and Domestic
Violence Center. For the Colleges, confidential resources are limited to entities with statutory
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Sexual Misconduct Reporting
Support Services and Processes Policy

privilege, such as off campus counseling and psychological services, health services providers,
member(s) of the clergy, and the local Sexual Assault Crisis Center and Domestic Violence
Center. The personnel of these centers and agencies are bound by state statutes and professional
ethics from disclosing information about reports without written releases.

Information provided to a confidential resource by a victim of a sexual misconduct or the person
reported to have been the victim of sexual misconduct cannot be disclosed legally to any other
person without consent, except under very limited circumstances, such as an imminent threat of
danger to self or others or if the reported victim is a minor. Therefore, for those who wish to obtain
the fullest legal protections and disclose in full confidentiality, she/he must speak with a confidential
resource. Each BOR governed college and university will provide a list of such confidential
resources in the College or University’s geographic region to victims of sexual misconduct as well
as publish these resources on-line and in various publications.

Where it is deemed necessary for the institution to take steps to protect the safety of the reported victim
and/or other members of the campus community, the institution will seek to act in a manner so as not
to compromise the privacy or confidentiality of the reported victim of sexual misconduct to the extent
reasonably possible.

Mandated Reporting by College and University Employees

Other than confidential resources as defined above, in addition to employees who qualify as Campus
Security Authorities under the Jeanne Clery Act, all employees are required to immediately
communicate to the institution’s designated recipient (e.g., Title IX Coordinator) any disclosure or
report of sexual misconduct received from a student regardless of the age of the reported victim. All
employees are also required to communicate to the institution’s designated recipient (e.g., Title IX
Coordinator) any disclosure or report of sexual misconduct received from an employee that impacts
employment with the institution or is otherwise related to the business of the institution.

Upon receiving a disclosure or a report of sexual misconduct, employees are expected to
supportively, compassionately and professionally offer academic and other accommodations and to
provide a referral for support and other services.

Further, in accordance with Connecticut State law, with the exception of student employees, any paid
administrator, faculty, staff, athletic director, athletic coach or athletic trainer who, in the ordinary
course of their employment, has a reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a person under the age
of 18 years has been abused or neglected, has been placed in imminent harm or has had a non-
accidental injury is required by law and Board policy to report the incident within twelve hours to their
immediate supervisor and to the Department of Children and Families.

Rights of Parties

Those who report any type of sexual misconduct to any BOR governed college or university employee
will be informed in a timely manner of all their rights and options, including the necessary steps and
potential outcomes of each option. When choosing a reporting resource the following information
should be considered:
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e All reports of sexual misconduct will be treated seriously and with dignity by the institution.

e Referrals to off-campus counseling and medical services that are available immediately and
confidential, whether or not those who report feel ready to make any decisions about reporting
to police, a college or university employee or the campus’s Title IX Coordinator.

e Those who have been the victim of sexual misconduct have the right to take both criminal and
civil legal action against the individual allegedly responsible.

e Those who seek confidentiality may contact a clergy member(s), a University counseling
center psychologist, a University health center care provider, the Sexual Assault Crisis Center
of Connecticut and/or the Connecticut Coalition Against Domestic Violence — all of whom are
bound by state statutes and professional ethics to maintain confidentiality without written
releases.

Right to Notify Law Enforcement & Seek Protective and Other Orders
Those who report being subjected to sexual misconduct shall be provided written information about
her/his right to:

(1) notify law enforcement and receive assistance from campus authorities in making the
notification; and,

(2) obtain a protective order, apply for a temporary restraining order or seek enforcement of an
existing order. Such orders include:

»  standing criminal protective orders;

»  protective orders issued in cases of stalking, harassment, sexual assault, or risk of
injury to or impairing the morals of a child,

» temporary restraining orders or protective orders prohibiting the harassment of a
witness;

»  family violence protective orders.

Options for Changing Academic, Housing, Transportation and Working Arrangements

The colleges and universities will provide assistance to those involved in a report of sexual
misconduct, including but not limited to, reasonably available options for changing academic, campus
transportation, housing or working situations as well as honoring lawful protective or temporary
restraining orders. Each and every BOR governed college and university shall create and provide
information specific to its campus detailing the procedures to follow after the commission of such
violence, including people or agencies to contact for reporting purposes or to request assistance, and
information on the importance of preserving physical evidence.

Support Services Contact Information

It is BOR policy that whenever a college or university Title IX Coordinator or other employee receives
a report that a student, faculty or staff member has been subjected to sexual misconduct, the Title IX
Coordinator or other employee shall immediately provide the student, faculty or staff member with
contact information for and, if requested, professional assistance in accessing and using any
appropriate campus resources, or local advocacy, counseling, health, and mental health services. All
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CSCU campuses shall develop and distribute contact information for this purpose as well as provide
such information on-line.

Employee Conduct Procedures
Employees who are reported to have engaged in sexual misconduct are subject to discipline in accordance with
the procedures applicable to the employee’s classification of employment.

Student Conduct Procedures

The Student Code of Conduct provides the procedures for the investigation, definitions of terms,
and resolution of complaints regarding student conduct, including those involving sexual misconduct,
as defined herein.

The Title IX Coordinator can assist in explaining the student conduct process. The Student Code of
Conduct provides an equal, fair, and timely process (informal administrative resolution or a formal
adjudication) for reported victims and accused students.

Reported victims of sexual misconduct shall have the opportunity to request that an investigation or
disciplinary proceedings begin promptly; that such disciplinary proceedings shall be conducted by an
official trained annually in issues relating to sexual misconduct and shall use the preponderance of the
evidence (more likely than not) standard in making a determination concerning the alleged sexual
misconduct.

Both the reported victim of sexual misconduct and the accused student are entitled to be
accompanied to any meeting or proceeding relating to the allegation of sexual misconduct by an
advisor or support person of their choice, provided the involvement of such advisor or support
person does not result in the postponement or delay of such meeting as scheduled and provided such
an advisor or support person may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses or
otherwise actively participate in the hearing process or other meeting pertaining to a report of sexual
misconduct and each student shall have the opportunity to present evidence and witnesses on her/his
behalf during any disciplinary proceeding.

Both the reported victim and accused student are entitled to be provided at the same time written
notice of the results of any disciplinary proceeding, normally within one (1) business day after the
conclusion of such proceeding, which notice shall include the following: the name of the accused
student, the violation committed, if any, and any sanction imposed upon the accused student.
Sanctions may range from a warning to expulsion, depending upon the behavior and its severity of
the violation(s). The reported victim shall have the same right to request a review of the decision of
any disciplinary proceeding in the same manner and on the same basis as shall the accused student;
however, in such cases, if a review by any reported victim is granted, among the other actions that
may be taken, the sanction of the disciplinary proceeding may also be increased. The reported victim
and the accused student are entitled to be simultaneously provided written notice of any change in
the results of any disciplinary proceeding prior to the time when the results become final as well as
to be notified when such results become final.

7
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In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), the accused student
and the reported victim have the right to keep their identities confidential.

Dissemination of this Policy

Upon adoption by the Board all CSCU institutions shall, upon receipt, immediately post and maintain
this policy at all times in an easily accessible manner on each institution’s website. This policy shall
thereafter be annually provided to all Title IX Coordinators, campus law enforcement officers and
security personnel, and other campus personnel. Further, this policy shall be presented at student
orientation and at student awareness and prevention trainings, and made broadly available at each
campus. The policy shall be expanded upon by each institution to provide resources and contact
information specific to their institution and geographic area as set forth above.
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4.3 Policy on Consensual Relationships

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) of the Connecticut State Colleges and
Universities’ respects that the educational mission of its institutions is founded on an atmosphere
of mutual trust and respect between all members of the academic community. Faculty members,
as well as those individuals upon whom the institution confers managerial, supervisory, or
evaluative responsibilities, (including graduate assistants or undergraduate teaching assistants)
carry a special responsibility to adhere to the highest ethical and professional standards and to
avoid any actions that may appear to undermine this atmosphere of trust and respect and thereby
hinder the institution’s educational mission.

Because of the inherent imbalance of power and need for trust, faculty members, supervisory
staff, and those with evaluative authority should be aware that dating or sexual relationships that
might be appropriate in other circumstances have inherent dangers when they occur between a
faculty and or staff member and a student as well as when they occur between a supervisor and
employee.

Such relationships can create real conflicts, are susceptible to an appearance of exploitation, and
can impair the trust and integrity of the teaching, coaching, or other supervisory or evaluative
relationship and may cause a perception of favoritism or bias on the part of the staff. In addition,
although these relationships may begin and remain consensual, they may easily be later
characterized as non-consensual and could potentially lead to sexual harassment charges.

Affirmative consent is the standard used to determine whether sexual activity was consensual. As
defined by Public Act 16-106, “Affirmative consent” means an active, clear and voluntary
agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity with another person.

Policy Prohibited Between Employee and Student

Consensual romantic, dating, or sexual relationships between any employee and any student over
whom that employee exercises direct or otherwise significant academic, supervisory, or
evaluative authority or influence are prohibited at all State Universities and Colleges. The
evaluative relationship can take a variety of forms, such as teacher to student, advisor to advisee,
coach to athlete, supervisor to student employee, or similar relationship.

Strongly Discouraged Between Employee and Student

Romantic, dating or sexual relationships between employees and students over whom said
employee does not have supervisory or evaluative authority are strongly discouraged. Such
relationships are not only susceptible to future conflicts of interest, but also may present the
appearance of impropriety.

If this situation exists, no employee should agree to supervise or evaluate a student with whom
he or she has, or formerly had, a consensual relationship. A faculty member should inform the
Dean if such a student wishes to enroll in a credit bearing course that he or she is teaching so that
alternate arrangements can be made. Nor should a faculty member direct the student’s
independent study, internship, or thesis; participate in decisions regarding grades; or write letters
of recommendation or reference



Between Employee and Employee

BOR discourages employees with supervisory or evaluative authority from engaging in romantic,
dating or sexual relationships with employees who they supervise or evaluate. If such a
relationship exists or develops, the supervisory employee must notify his/her manager so that
arrangements can be made for the unbiased supervision and evaluation of the employee.
These situations are handled on a case-by-case basis and may require transfer or reassignment
of one or more employees.

In the Event of a Sexual Harassment Charge

Anyone who enters into a romantic, dating or sexual relationship where a professional power
differential exists must realize that if a charge of sexual harassment is subsequently filed, it may
be difficult to defend the charge by claiming that there was mutual consent. Employees could be
held personally liable in a criminal or civil lawsuit. Affirmative consent is the standard used to
determine whether sexual activity was consensual. As defined by Public Act 16-106, “Affirmative
consent” means an active, clear and voluntary agreement by a person to engage in sexual activity
with another person.

Sanctions
All violations of this policy should be reported to Human Resources for investigation and
appropriate administrative action, up to and including disciplinary action.



Policy Regarding Reporting Suspected Abuse or Neglect of a Child
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The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) of the Connecticut State Colleges and
Universities (CSCU) accept that institutions of higher education foster educational opportunities
for people under the age of 18 years. The BOR, in acknowledging the special care required for
children, strives to the utmost to protect children on its campuses from any form of abuse or
neglect.

Pursuant to state law, with the exception of student employees, any paid administrator, faculty,
staff, athletic director, athletic coach or athletic trainer, collectively referred to as “mandatory
reporters” who in the ordinary course of their employment has a reasonable cause to suspect or
believe that a person under the age of 18 years has been abused or neglected, has been placed in
imminent harm or has had a non-accidental injury is required to cause a report to be made to the
Department of Children and Families within 12 hours of becoming aware or suspecting abuse,
neglect or imminent harm to a child.

The BOR recognizes that each CSCU campus must be a safe and secure environment for
children to grow and develop. Therefore, the BOR further requires mandatory reporters to report
any witnessed or suspected abuse or neglect of a child on a CSCU campus to their immediate
supervisor in addition to DCF. The supervisor must report the incident to their director or vice
president who must then inform the campus President and the System Office Vice President for
Human Resources or his/her designee.

If the director or vice president reasonably believes that a reportable incident has occurred, and,
if the suspected perpetrator is a BOR or CSCU employee, he/she will immediately contact their
Chief Human Resources Officer who shall assign an objective person to investigate the

report. An employee under investigation may be placed on administrative leave pending the
results of the investigation. Employees who report suspicions of abuse or neglect are protected
from any disciplinary action unless the report is determined to have been maliciously made. An
employee who fails to report, but is later determined to have had previous knowledge of the
abuse, may be subject to discipline.

A report is required if there is reasonable cause to suspect that a person under the age of 18 is in
imminent harm, has had non accidental injuries or has been abused or neglected. Reasonable
cause to believe or suspect that child abuse has occurred is sufficient to make a report.

All staff designated as mandatory reporters are required to take the Department of Children and
Families Mandated Reporter Training, either on-line or in person, and Mandated Reporter
Training will be included in New Employee Orientation. Compliance with training will be
monitored by each CSCU campus’s Department of Human Resources. A copy of this policy
shall be disseminated annually to all employees.

Reasonable steps will be taken to preserve privacy while promptly investigating and responding
to the report. While the institution will strive to maintain the confidentiality of the information
reported, which information may be subject to privacy requirements of the Family Education



Rights Privacy Act (FERPA), the institution also must fulfill its duty to protect the CSCU
community and to assure that the appropriate disciplinary processes are implemented.



Approved 3/13/2014; amended

CONNECTICUT STATE 4/17/2014; 1/15/2015, 6/16/2016
<‘ |> COLLEGES ¢» UNIVERSITIES

BoarD or REGEnTS For HigHER EDUCATION

BOR/CSCU STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT

Contents
[.  STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT ....cc.coitiitiiiiteieeitente ettt sttt st 1
PREAMBLE ...ttt ettt b et e a e h et e h e bt et eb e bt et eht e bt et e ebe e beennes 1
INTRODUCTION ...ttt ettt sttt e et e st eteeae e s st e e e eseesseenseeseenseenseeneenseensesneenseensas 1
PART A: DEFINITIONS . ...ttt sttt sttt e sae e 2
PART B:  APPLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, AND ADMINISTRATION OF THE
STUDENT CODE OF CONDUC T ......utiititieieeiiesieeie sttt te sttt seeesse e sseeaeeneesaeenseeneens 4
PART C: SCOPE OF AUTHORITY ..ottt 5
PART D: PROHIBITED CONDUCT ..ottt ettt 6
PART E:  HEARING PROCEDURES FOR SEXUAL MISCONDUCT, SEXUAL INTIMATE
PARTNER, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE & STALKING REPORTS .......cooiiiiiiiiiiieieeeeee 11
PART F: CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY RECORDS......cccoiiiiieeeeeee e 13
PART G: INTERPRETATION AND REVISION .....cooiiiiiiiiiiienieieeeseecee e 13
II. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO STATE
UNIVERSITY STUDENTS 14
PART A:  DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT ..........cccvveunennee. 14
PART B:  DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - NONACADEMIC MISCONDUCT ............... 15
PART C: INTERIM SUSPENSIONS AND RESIDENCE HALL SEPARATIONS............ 20
PART D: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS ..ottt st 21
1. Sanctions Which May Be Imposed for Violations of the Code: .........ccceeevvveeieennnnnnne. 21
2. Revocation of Admission and/or Deree.........cuvvevvieeiiieiiieeiiie ettt 23
3. Consequences of Failure to Comply with a Duly Assigned Sanction...........cccceecuvennnnne. 23
4. Sanctions Which May Be Imposed on Student Organizations............cccceeevveeeenveesneeennne. 24
III.  CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO COMMUNITY
COLLEGE STUDENTS ...ttt ettt ettt et sttt sttt et sae et e et e bt eaeeatesaeenee 25
PART A:  DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES .......cciiiiiiiiieieeee e 25
PART B:  DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS......cooiiiiiiiiietee ettt 27
IV.  CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES APPLICABLE TO CHARTER OAK
STATE COLLEGE STUDENTS ..ottt ettt e eneesne e 29
PART A:  RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF HEARING PARTICIPANTS. ................ 29
PART B:  DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES .......ccioiiiiieieesteeee et 30
PART C:  INTERIM ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION.....ccceiiiiiiieiieieeeeee e 32

PART D:  DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS.......cociiiiiiiiiiiiicte e 32



BOR/CSCU STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT 1

I. STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT

PREAMBLE

Academic institutions exist for the transmission of knowledge, the pursuit of truth, the development
of students, and the general well-being of society. In line with this purpose, the Board of
Regents for Higher Education (“BOR”) in conjunction with the Connecticut State Colleges and
Universities (“CSCU”) has the duty to protect the freedoms of inquiry and expression, and
furthermore, has the responsibility to encourage all of its members to develop the capacity for
critical judgment in their sustained and independent search for truth.

CSCU has certain self-defined institutional values. Principal among these values is respect for
the safety, dignity, rights, and individuality of each member of the CSCU Community. The
opportunity to live, study, and work in an institution which values diverse intellectual and cultural
perspectives and encourages discussion and debate about competing ideas in an atmosphere of
civility is a basic component of quality higher education.

All members of CSCU must at all times govern their social and academic interactions with tolerance
and mutual respect so that the students who pass through a CSCU door are enriched by these
experiences and are prepared for full and enlightened participation in a multi-cultural society.
Because of the BOR’s and CSCU's commitment to principles of pluralism, mutual respect, and
civility, certain activities are not acceptable on CSCU campuses. Acts of intolerance, of hatred
or violence based on race, religion, sexual orientation or expression, disability, gender, age, or
ethnic background are antithetical to the BOR’s and CSCU's fundamental principles and values. It
is the BOR's and CSCU’s responsibility to protect our students' right to learn by establishing an
environment of civility.

The disciplinary process is intended to be part of the educational mission of CSCU. Student
disciplinary proceedings are not criminal proceedings and are not subject to court rules of
procedure and evidence.

INTRODUCTION

This Student Code of Conduct (hereinafter the “Student Code” or “Code”) is intended to present a
clear statement of student rights and responsibilities established by the Board of Regents for Higher
Education. The BOR has charged the President of the Board of Regents for Higher Education with
developing procedures to protect those rights and to address the abdication of responsibilities in
collaboration with the four State Universities, the twelve Community Colleges and Charter Oak
State College. The Student Code describes the types of acts that are not acceptable in an academic
community.

Disclaimer: This Code is neither a contract nor an offer of a contract between any BOR
governed institution and any student. The provisions of this Code are subject to revision at any
time.
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PART A:

DEFINITIONS

The following list of defined terms utilized throughout this Student Code is provided in an effort
to facilitate a more thorough understanding of the Code. This list is not intended to be a
complete list of all the terms referenced in the Student Code that might require interpretation or
clarification. The Vice President for Student Affairs at a University, the Dean of Students at a
Community College, the Provost at Charter Oak State College or their designee shall make the
final decision of the interpretation of the definition of any term found in the Student Code. For
purposes of interpretation and application of the Student Code only, the following terms shall have
the following meanings:

1.

2.

“Accused Student” means any student accused of violating this Student Code.

“Advisor” means a person who accompanies an Accused Student or an alleged

victim to a hearing (or a proceeding pertaining to a report of sexual violence) for
the limited purpose of providing advice and guidance to the student. An advisor
may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses, or otherwise
actively participate in the hearing process (or other proceeding pertaining to a report
of sexual violence).

“Appellate Body” means any person or persons authorized by the University Vice
President for Student Affairs, Community College Dean of Students, Charter Oak
State College Provost or their designee to consider an appeal from a determination
by a Hearing Body that a student has violated the Student Code.

“Calendar Days” means the weekdays (Mondays through Fridays)
when the University or College is open.

“College” means either collectively or singularly any of the following institutions:
Asnuntuck Community College, Capital Community College, Gateway Community
College, Housatonic Community College, Manchester Community College,
Middlesex Community College, Naugatuck Valley Community College,
Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Norwalk Community College,
Quinebaug Valley Community College, Three Rivers Community College, Tunxis
Community College, and Charter Oak State College.

“Complainant(s)” means the person(s) who initiates a complaint by alleging that a
Student(s) violated the Code.

“CSCU” means either collectively or singularly, any of the following institutions:
Central Connecticut State University, Eastern Connecticut State University,
Southern Connecticut State University, Western Connecticut State University;
Asnuntuck Community College, Capital Community College, Gateway Community
College, Housatonic Community College, Manchester Community College,
Middlesex Community College, Naugatuck Valley Community College,
Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Norwalk Community College,
Quinebaug Valley Community College, Three Rivers Community College, Tunxis
Community College, and Charter Oak State College.
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8. “CSCU Affiliates” means individuals and/or entities with whom or with which the
College or University has a contractual relationship.

9. “CSCU Official” means any person employed by the College or University to
perform assigned administrative, instructional, or professional responsibilities.

10. “CSCU Premises” means all land, buildings, facilities, and other property in the
possession of, or owned, used, and/or controlled by, the University or College, either
solely or in conjunction with another entity.

11.  “Disciplinary Officer” or “Conduct Administrator” means a University, College
or CSCU official who is authorized to determine the appropriate resolution of an
alleged violation of the Code, and/or to impose sanctions or affect other remedies as
appropriate. Subject to the provisions of this Code, a disciplinary officer or conduct
administrator is vested with the authority to, among other duties: investigate a
complaint of an alleged violation of the Code decline to pursue a complaint, refer
identified disputants to mediation or other appropriate avenues of resolution,
establish charges against a student, enter into an administrative agreement developed
with an Accused Student in accordance with Section II-B-3 of this Code, advise a
Hearing Body, and present the case before the Hearing Body.

12.  “Hearing Body” or “Hearing Panel” means any person or persons authorized by
the University Vice President for Student Affairs, Community College Dean of
Students or Charter Oak State College Provost to determine whether a student has
violated the Code and to impose sanctions as warranted, including a hearing officer
or hearing board.

13.  “Institution” means the University or College within CSCU.

14.  “Instructor” means any faculty member, teaching assistant or any other person
authorized by the University to provide educational services, including, but not
limited to, teaching, research, and academic advising.

15. “Member of the CSCU Community” means any person who is a student, an
official or any other person who works for CSCU, either directly or indirectly (e.g.,
for a private enterprise doing business on a CSCU campus).

16.  “Policy” means the written regulations, standards, and student conduct
expectations adopted by the BOR and found in, but not limited to the Student
Handbook, the Residence Life Handbook, the housing contract, the graduate and
undergraduate catalogs, and other publicized University and College notices.

17. *“Prohibited Conduct” means the conduct prohibited by this Code, as more particularly
described in Part I-D of this Code.

18. “Reporting Party” means any person who alleges that a student has violated this
Code.



BOR/CSCU STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT 4

19.  *“Student” means either (1) any person admitted, registered, enrolled or attending
any CSCU course or CSCU conducted program, whether full-time or part- time, and
whether pursuing undergraduate, graduate or professional studies, or continuing
education; (2) any person who is not officially enrolled for a particular term but who
has a continuing relationship with a CSCU; or (3) any person within two calendar
years after the conclusion of their last registered Community College course unless
the student has formally withdrawn, graduated or been expelled from the College.

20. “Student Code” or “Code” means this Student Code of Conduct.

21. “Student Organization” means an association or group of persons that have
complied with the formal requirements for University or College recognition.

22. “Support Person” means a person, who accompanies an Accused Student, a Reporting
Party or a victim to a hearing for the limited purpose of providing support and
guidance. A support person may not directly address the Hearing Body, question
witnesses, or otherwise actively participate in the hearing process.

23. “University” means any of the following institutions: Central Connecticut State
University, Eastern Connecticut State University, Southern Connecticut State
University, and Western Connecticut State University, whichever the alleged
violation of the Code occurred.

24, “Shall” and “will” are used in the imperative sense.

25. “May” is used in the permissive sense.

PART B: APPLICATION, DISTRIBUTION, AND ADMINISTRATION OF THE
STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT

1. Application of the Student Code: The Student Code shall apply to the four Connecticut
State Universities, the twelve Community Colleges, and the on-line college:

Central Connecticut State University, Eastern Connecticut State University, Southern Connecticut
State University, Western Connecticut State University; Asnuntuck Community College, Capital
Community College, Gateway Community College, Housatonic Community College, Manchester
Community College, Middlesex Community College, Naugatuck Valley Community College,
Northwestern Connecticut Community College, Norwalk Community College, Quinebaug Valley
Community College, Three Rivers Community College, Tunxis Community College, and Charter
Oak State College.

An alleged violation of the Student Code shall be addressed in accordance with the Code of
Conduct, even if the accused Student has withdrawn from the Institution prior to the completion
of the disciplinary procedures.

The Student Code shall apply to Students and to University Student Organizations. The term
“student” shall generally apply to the student as an individual and to a Student Organization as a
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single entity. The officers or leaders of a particular Student Organization usually will be expected
to represent the organization during the disciplinary process. Nothing in this Student Code shall
preclude holding certain members of a Student Organization accountable for their individual acts
committed in the context of or in association with the organization’s alleged violation of this Code.

2. Distribution of the Student Code: The Student Code shall be made readily
available electronically and/or in a printed publication to students, faculty and staff. The office
responsible for Student Affairs will annually distribute and make available to students, faculty and
staff, electronically and/or in a printed publication, any revisions to the Code.

3. Administration of the Student Code: A University’s and Charter Oak State College’s Provost
or a Community College’s Dean of Students shall be the person designated by the institution President
to be responsible for the administration of the Academic Misconduct portion of the Student Code. A
University’s Vice President for Student Affairs, a Community College’s Dean of Students, or Charter
Oak State College’s Provost shall be the person designated by the institution President to be
responsible for the administration of the Non-Academic Misconduct portion of the Student Code.

PART C: SCOPE OF AUTHORITY

A Student who is found responsible for engaging in conduct that violates the Student Code on
any CSCU campus or on property controlled by the BOR or by any CSCU Affiliate or any CSCU
sponsored function or event shall be subject to the sanctions described in this Code. The Student
Code of Conduct also applies to online activities, where applicable. Students who attempt to
engage in conduct that violates this Code, who knowingly encourage, aid or assist another
person in engaging in such conduct, or who agree with another person, explicitly or otherwise, to
engage in such conduct, may also be subject to disciplinary action.

Off-campus misconduct by University students may be subject to the jurisdiction of the University
and addressed through its disciplinary procedures if one of the following conditions is met:
(1) a Student engages in prohibited conduct at an official University event, at a University-
sanctioned event, or at an event sponsored by a recognized University Student Organization; or (ii)
a Student engages in prohibited conduct under such circumstances that reasonable grounds exist for
believing that the Accused Student poses a threat to the life, health or safety of any member of the
CSCU or to the property of the CSCU.

Community College students conduct is subject to the Code on campus and off-campus whenever
such conduct impairs College-related activities or affairs of another member of the College
community or creates a risk of harm to a member or members of the College community. Students
must be aware that, as citizens, they are subject to all federal and state laws in addition to all CSCU
regulations governing student conduct and responsibilities. Students do not relinquish their rights
nor do they shed their responsibilities as citizens by becoming members of the CSCU Community.
However, where a court of law has found a student to have violated the law, an institution has the
right to impose the sanctions of this Code even though the conduct does not impair institution-related
activities of another member of the university or college community and does not create a risk of
harm to the college or university community. The decision to exercise this right will be in the sole
discretion of the President of the impacted institution or his/her designee.
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Charter Oak State College applies this Code to matriculated and non-matriculated students,
including those participating in portfolio assessment, credential evaluation, testing, or contract
learning. Jurisdiction shall be limited to student conduct that occurs while students are taking
Charter Oak State College courses or availing themselves of Charter Oak State College services.
However, if a matriculated Charter Oak State College student is found guilty of student misconduct
at another institution, including but not limited to misrepresentation of records from other
institutions, the student may be subject to disciplinary action at Charter Oak State College.

PARTD:  PROHIBITED CONDUCT

The following list of behaviors is intended to represent the types of acts that constitute violations
of this Code.

1. Academic misconduct, which includes, but is not limited to, plagiarism and all forms of
cheating.

Plagiarism is defined as the submission of work by a student for academic credit as one’s
own work of authorship which contains work of another author without appropriate
attribution.

Cheating includes, but is not limited to: (i) use of any unauthorized assistance in taking
quizzes, tests or examinations; (i1) use of sources beyond those authorized by the instructor
in writing papers, preparing reports, solving problems or carrying out other assignments;
(i11) the acquisition, without permission, of tests or other academic material belonging to a
member of the University faculty or staff; and (iv) engaging in any other behavior
specifically prohibited by a faculty member in the course syllabus.

2. Acts of dishonesty, including but not limited to the following:

a. Misuse of University or College documents, including, but not limited to
forging, transferring, altering or otherwise misusing a student fee card, student
payroll card, identification card or other College or University identification
document, course registration document, schedule card, transcript, or any other
institution-issued document or record.

b. Knowingly furnishing false information to any CSCU Official,
faculty member or office.

3. Theft of property or services, or damage to, defacement or destruction of, or tampering

with, real or personal property owned by the State of Connecticut, CSCU/BOR, the
institution, or any member of the CSCU Community.

4. Actual or threatened physical assault or abuse, threatening behavior, intimidation, or
coercion.

5. Sexual misconduct may include engaging in one of more behaviors:



BOR/CSCU STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT 7

(a) Sexual harassment, which can include any unwelcome sexual advance or request for
sexual favors, or any conduct of a sexual nature when submission to such conduct is
made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual’s education;
submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for
academic decisions affecting the individual; or such conduct has the purpose or effect
of substantially interfering with an individual’s academic performance or creating an
intimidating, hostile or offensive educational environment. Examples of conduct which
may constitute sexual harassment include but are not limited to:

e sexual flirtation, touching, advances or propositions

e verbal abuse of a sexual nature

e pressure to engage in sexual activity

e graphic or suggestive comments about an individual’s dress or appearance

e use of sexually degrading words to describe an individual

e display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures or photographs

e sexual jokes

e stereotypic comments based upon gender

« threats, demands or suggestions that retention of one’s educational status is
contingent upon toleration of or acquiescence in sexual advances.

(b) Sexual assault shall include but is not limited to a sexual act directed against another
person when that person is not capable of giving consent, which shall mean the voluntary
agreement by a person in the possession and exercise of sufficient mental capacity to make
a deliberate choice to do something proposed by another.

A person who initially consents to sexual activity shall be deemed not to have consented to
any such activity which occurs after that consent is withdrawn. Consent cannot be assumed
because there is no physical resistance or other negative response. A lack of consent may
result from mental incapacity (e.g., ingestion of alcohol or drugs which significantly impair
awareness or judgment) or physical incapacity (e.g., the person is unconscious or otherwise
unable to communicate consent). Consent must be affirmative. (See Sexual Misconduct
Reporting, Support Services and Processes Policy).

Sexual assault is further defined in sections 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-
72b and 53a-73a of the Connecticut General Statutes.

(c) Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes non-consensual or abusive sexual
advantage of another for anyone’s advantage or benefit other than the person being
exploited, and that behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual
misconduct offenses. Examples of behavior that could rise to the level of sexual
exploitation include:
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6.

* Prostituting another person;

* Non-consensual visual (e.g., video, photograph) or audio-recording of sexual activity;

* Non-consensual distribution of photos, other images, or information of an individual’s
sexual activity, intimate body parts, or nakedness, with the intent to or having the effect
of embarrassing an individual who is the subject of such images or information;

* Going beyond the bounds of consent (such as letting your friends hide in the closet to
watch you having consensual sex);

* Engaging in non-consensual voyeurism;

* Knowingly transmitting an STI, such as HIV to another without disclosing your STI
status;

* Exposing one’s genitals in non-consensual circumstances, or inducing another to
expose his or her genitals; or

» Possessing, distributing, viewing or forcing others to view illegal pornography.

Intimate partner violence is defined as:

e Including intimate partner violence, which is any physical or sexual harm against an
individual by a current or former spouse or by a partner in a dating relationship that
results from (1) sexual assault, as defined in section 5 above; (2) sexual assault in a
spousal or cohabiting relationship; (3) domestic violence; (4) sexual harassment, as
defined in section 5 above or, (5) sexual exploitation, as defined in section 5 above.

e Physical abuse, which can include but is not limited to, slapping, pulling hair or
punching.

e Threat of abuse, which can include but is not limited to, threatening to hit, harm or use a
weapon on another (whether victim or acquaintance, friend or family member of the
victim) or other forms of verbal threat.

e Emotional abuse, which can include but is not limited to, damage to one’s property,
driving recklessly to scare someone, name calling, threatening to hurt one’s family
members or pets and humiliating another person.

Violations of privacy, including, but not limited to, voyeurism and the use of web-based,
electronic or other devices to make a photographic, audio or video record of any person
without his or her express consent, when such arecording is intended or likely to cause
injury or distress. This includes, but is not limited to: (i) surreptitiously taking pictures or
videos of another person in spaces such as sleeping areas, bathrooms, gymnasiums, locker
rooms, and changing areas; and (i1) sexually exploiting another person by electronically
recording or permitting others to view or electronically record, consensual sexual activity
without a partner’s knowledge or permitting others to view or listen to such video or audio
tapes without a partner’s knowledge and consent. Publicizing or threatening to publicize
such records will also be considered a violation of this Code.

Hazing, which is defined as an act which endangers the mental or physical health or
safety of a Student, or which destroys, damages, or removes public or private property
for the purpose of initiation or admission into, affiliation with or as a condition for continued
membership in a group or organization. The express or implied consent of the victim will
not be a defense to an allegation of hazing. Consenting to the activity by remaining
silent or not objecting in the presence of hazing is not a neutral act and is also a violation
of this Student Code.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

Stalking, which is defined as repeatedly contacting another person when:

a. The contacting person knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the
other person; and

b. The contact causes the other person reasonable apprehension of imminent
physical harm or the contacting person knows or should know that the contact causes
substantial impairment of the other person’s ability to perform the activities
of daily life.

As used in this definition, the term “contacting” includes, but is not limited to,
communicating with (including internet communication via e-mail, instant message, on- line
community or any other internet communication) or remaining in the physical presence of
the other person.

Harassment, which is defined as conduct which is abusive or which interferes with a
person’s pursuit of his or her customary or usual affairs, including, but not limited to,
such conduct when directed toward an individual or group because of race, ethnicity,
ancestry, national origin, religion, gender, sexual orientation or expression, age, physical
attribute, or physical or mental disability or disorder, including learning disabilities and
mental retardation.

Conduct that is disorderly, lewd or indecent (including, but not limited to, public nudity
and sexual activity in areas generally open to members of the campus community),
breach of peace or aiding, abetting or procuring another person to breach the peace on
CSCU premises or at functions sponsored by, or affiliated with the University or College.

Behavior or activity which endangers the health, safety, or well-being of oneself or
others.

Offensive or disorderly conduct which causes interference, annoyance or alarm or recklessly
creates a risk thereof at CSCU or CSCU premises, CSCU web or social media sites, at a
CSCU-sponsored activity or in college or university courses, including cyber bullying. This
offense does not apply to speech or other forms of constitutionally protected expression.

Unauthorized possession, duplication or use of keys (including, but not limited to, card
access, card keys, fobs, etc.) to any CSCU premises or forcible and/or unauthorized entry
on or into CSCU premises.

Starting fires, causing explosions, falsely reporting the presence of fire, bombs,
incendiary or explosive devices, or falsely reporting an emergency.

Unauthorized or improper possession, use, removal, tampering or disabling of fire and/or
safety equipment and warning devices, failure to follow standard fire and/or emergency
safety procedures, or interference with firefighting or emergency response equipment or
personnel.
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17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

26.

27.

Use, possession, purchase, sale or distribution of alcoholic beverages, except as expressly
permitted by law and CSCU regulations. Alcoholic beverages may not, under any
circumstances, be used by, possessed by, or distributed to any person under twenty-one (21)
years of age.

Use, possession, purchase, sale, distribution or manufacturing of narcotics, controlled
substances and/or drugs, including, but not limited to, marijuana and heroin, or drug
paraphernalia, except as expressly permitted by law.

Use, possession or distribution of firearms, ammunition for firearms, other weapons or
dangerous instruments, facsimiles of weapons or firearms, fireworks, explosives or
dangerous chemicals. A dangerous instrument is any instrument, article or substance
that, under the circumstances in which it is being utilized, is capable of causing death or
serious physical injury. The possession of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument on
campus is strictly prohibited, even if such item is legally owned.

Gambling, including, but not limited to, promoting, wagering, receiving monies for
wagering or gambling for money or property on CSCU premises.

Disruption or obstruction of any College or University function, activity or event, whether
it occurs on or off the campus, or of any non-University or College function, activity or
event which is authorized by the institution to occur on its premises.

Intentional obstruction of the free flow of pedestrian or vehicular traffic on CSCU
premises or at University or College-sponsored or supervised functions or interference
with entry into or exit from CSCU premises or with the free movement of any person.

Failure to comply with the directions of CSCU officials or law enforcement officers acting
in the performance of their duties and/or failure to identify oneself to these persons when

requested to do so.

Conduct that violates published BOR/CSCU policies, rules, and regulations, including, but
not limited to, residence hall rules and regulations.

Conduct prohibited by any federal, state, and/or local law, regulation or ordinance.

Unauthorized use of CSCU property or the property of members of the CSCU
Community or of CSCU Affiliates.

Theft, unauthorized use, or abuse of University or College computers and/or peripheral
systems and networks, including, but not limited to:

a. Unauthorized access to CSCU computer programs or files;
b. Unauthorized alteration, transfer or duplication of CSCU computer programs or
files;

c. Unauthorized use of another individual’s identification and/or password;
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Deliberate disruption of the operation of CSCU computer systems and networks;

Use of the Institution’s computing facilities and resources in violation of
copyright laws (including unauthorized peer-to-peer file sharing of copyrighted
material, including, but not limited to, copyrighted music, movies, and software);

Use of computing facilities and resources to send obscene messages (which are
defined as messages which appeal mainly to a prurient, shameful or morbid
interest in nudity, sex, excretion, sadism or masochism, go well beyond

customary limits of candor in describing or representing such matters, and are

utterly without redeeming social value); and

Violation of the BOR Policy Statement on Acceptable and responsible use of
Information Technology resources and/or any applicable BOR computer use policy.

28. Abuse of the CSCU conduct and disciplinary system, including but not limited to:

a.

PART E:

Failure to obey the notice from a Hearing Body or CSCU Official to appear for a
meeting or hearing as part of the Student Conduct system;

Falsification, distortion, or intentional misrepresentation of information to a
Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator, or before a Hearing Body;

Initiation of a conduct or disciplinary proceeding knowingly without cause;
Disruption or interference with the orderly conduct of a disciplinary proceeding;

Attempting to discourage an individual’s proper participation in, or use of, the
disciplinary system;

Attempting to influence the impartiality of a Disciplinary Officer, Conduct
Administrator or member of a Hearing Body prior to, and/or during the course of, the
disciplinary proceeding;

Harassment (verbal or physical) and/or intimidation of a Disciplinary Officer,
Conduct Administrator, or member of a Hearing Body prior to, and/or during the course
of the disciplinary proceeding;

Failure to comply with the sanction(s) imposed under the Student Code; and

Influencing or attempting to influence another person to commit an abuse of the
disciplinary system.

HEARING PROCEDURES FOR SEXUAL MISCONDUCT, SEXUAL INTIMATE

PARTNER, DOMESTIC VIOLENCE & STALKING REPORTS

In addition to disciplinary procedures applicable to State University students in Section II, Community
College students in Section III, or Charter Oak State College Students in Section IV, for any hearing
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conducted involving allegations of sexual misconduct, including sexual harassment, sexual assault,
sexual exploitation, stalking and intimate partner violence the reported victim and the accused student
shall each have the following rights::

1.

At any meeting or proceeding, both the reported victim and accused student may be accompanied by
an advisor or support person of the student’s choice provided the advisor or support person does not
cause a scheduled meeting or hearing to be delayed or postponed and provided an advisor or support
person may not directly address the Hearing Body, question witnesses, or otherwise actively
participate in the hearing process (or other proceeding or pertaining to a report of sexual
misconduct);

The reported victim of sexual misconduct is entitled to request that disciplinary proceedings begin
promptly;

Any hearing regarding an accusation of sexual misconduct shall (i) be fair, prompt and impartial; (ii)
be conducted by a Hearing Body annually trained in issues relating to sexual misconduct (iii) use the
preponderance of evidence (more likely than not ) standard; (iv) shall allow both the accused student
and reported victim the opportunity to present evidence and witnesses on their behalf during any
disciplinary proceeding; (v) shall provide both the accused student and the reported victim with equal
access to any information that will be used during meetings and hearings; and (vi) invoke the
standard of “affirmative consent!” in determining whether consent to engage in sexual activity was
given by all persons who engaged in sexual activity .

In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), the accused student
and the reported victim have the right to keep their identities confidential;

Any reported victim shall be provided written notice of the decision of the Hearing Body at the same
time as the accused student, normally within one (1) business day after the conclusion of the Hearing.
In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) the notice to any
reported victim of sexual misconduct shall contain only the following: the name of the accused
student, the violation committed, if any, and any sanction imposed against the accused student.

The reported victim shall have the same right to request a review of the decision of the Hearing Body
(appeal rights) in the same manner and on the same basis as shall the accused student; however, if a
request for review by a reported victim is determined to be properly made and if the review
determines there is sufficient grounds for altering the decision of the Hearing Body, among the other
actions that may be taken as set forth above, the sanction of the hearing may also be increased.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, in any hearing pertaining to sexual misconduct both the reported
victim and the accused student are entitled to be simultaneously provided notice of any change in the
results of the hearing prior to the time when the results become final as well as to be notified when
such results become final.

IThe standard of “Affirmative Consent” is set forth in the BOR Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services
and Processes Policy and is incorporated herein by reference.
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PART F: CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY RECORDS

The written decision resulting from an administrative conference or a hearing under this Code shall
become part of the student’s educational record and shall be subject to the provisions of the Family
Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA). A student’s disciplinary record shall be maintained
separately from any other academic or official file maintained by the Institution. Disciplinary
records will be maintained for a period of five (5) years from the date of the incident, except that
the sanction of expulsion shall be noted permanently.

While student education records are generally protected from disclosure by FERPA, there are a
number of exceptions to this rule. Students should be aware that a record concerning his/her
behavior while a student at the College or University may be shared with other colleges or
universities to which the student may subsequently wish to transfer or be admitted. Similarly,
prospective employers may require a student to provide access to his/her education records as part of
the employment application process. A record of having been sanctioned for conduct that violates
Section I.D. of the Code may disqualify a student for admission to another college or university, and
may interfere with his/her selection for employment.

PART G: INTERPRETATION AND REVISION

Questions regarding the interpretation of this Code shall be referred to the University’s and Charter
Oak State College’s Provost or a Community College’s Dean of Students or their designees for the
administration of the Non-Academic Misconduct portion of the Student Code and to the University’s
Vice President for Student Affairs, a Community College’s Dean of Academic Affairs or Charter
Oak State College’s Provost or their designees for the administration of the Academic Misconduct
portion of the Student Code.

This Code shall be reviewed and revised, if and as necessary, every five (5) years, or as directed by
the President of the Board of Regents for Higher Education.
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II. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES
APPLICABLE TO STATE UNIVERSITY STUDENTS

Procedures for University students differ from those procedures applicable to either the
Community Colleges or Charter Oak State College. This is due to the environmental, cultural, and
administrative differences within the types of the institutions comprising CSCU. Procedures for
addressing allegations and sanctions regarding academic misconduct (as defined in Section L.D.1)
for University Students as set for in this Section II of the Code.

PART A: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - ACADEMIC MISCONDUCT

1.

Instructor's Role:

When the instructor of record or his or her designee believes that an act of academic
misconduct has occurred, he or she shall notify the student of the allegation and save any
evidence of such misconduct in its original form. (Copies of the Accused Student’s work
will be provided to the Student upon request.) In addition, the instructor shall not
transmit a final grade to the Registrar until such time as the allegation(s) of academic
misconduct are finally determined. Each institution shall establish implementation
guidelines in accordance with this Code.

Information from Person Other than Student's Instructor: Any member of the CSCU
Community may provide information which might lead to a complaint against a Student
alleging academic misconduct.

The Academic Misconduct Hearing Board: There shall be an academic misconduct
hearing board convened by the University's Disciplinary Officer to consider allegations
of academic misconduct lodged against a Student. The University’s disciplinary officer
shall be a non-voting member of the board and act as convener.

Hearing Process: The Accused Student shall be afforded adequate notice of the
allegation, an opportunity to discuss the allegation with the instructor, and adequate time to
request and prepare for a hearing. All parties shall have an opportunity to be heard and a
record of the proceedings shall be made. The decision of a hearing board shall be
communicated in writing.

Sanctions: If'the academic misconduct hearing board determines that the Accused Student
is "Not Responsible," the board shall not impose any sanctions. The board shall so advise
the Student’s instructor and the instructor shall reevaluate the student’s course grade in light
of the Board’s determination. If the academic misconduct hearing board determines that
the Accused Student is "Responsible," the academic sanction set forth in the instructor's
course syllabus shall be imposed.

The academic misconduct hearing board may make a recommendation to change the
academic sanction imposed by the instructor on the basis of its hearing of the evidence of
academic m isconduct. (Should the academic sanction not be changed pursuant to this
recommendation, the University reserve the right to change the academic sanction.) Upon
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consideration of the Accused Student's record of misconduct and/or the nature of the
offense, the academic misconduct hearing board may impose additional non-academic
sanctions in proportion to the severity of the misconduct. These sanctions may
include the following: warning, written reprimand, discretionary sanctions, suspension
and/or expulsion, as described in II.D of this Student Code of Conduct.

Appeals: The decision rendered by the academic misconduct hearing board may be
appealed to the Provost/Academic Vice President, who shall review the record of the
hearing, including any and all documents presented to the academic misconduct hearing
board. An appeal shall be in writing and shall be delivered to the Provost/Academic Vice
President within three (3) calendar days of receipt of the academic misconduct hearing
board’s written decision.

An appeal may be brought on any of four grounds: (a) a claim that error in the hearing
procedure substantially affected the decision; (b) a claim that new evidence or
information material to the case was not known at the time of the hearing; (c) a claim that
the non-academic sanction(s) imposed were not appropriate for the violation of the Code
for which the accused student was found responsible; and/or (d) a claim that the academic
sanction imposed has resulted in a palpable injustice. The Provost/Academic Vice President
shall have the right to deny an appeal not brought on any of the foregoing grounds. The
decision rendered by the Provost/Academic Vice President shall be final and there shall
be no further right of appeal.

PART B: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES - NONACADEMIC MISCONDUCT

The following procedures shall be followed in addressing allegations of non-academic
misconduct.

1.

Providing Information leading to a Complaint: Any person may provide information
leading to the filing of a complaint against a Student or a Student Organization alleging
a violation of the Student Code. A complaint must be made in writing and submitted
to the University’s Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator.

Disciplinary Proceedings Against a Student Charged with a Violation of Law and a
Violation of the Code: University proceedings may be instituted against an Accused
Student who has been charged with a violation of state or federal law for conduct which
also constitutes a potential violation of this Code (that is, if both possible violations result
from the same factual situation) without regard to the pendency of civil or criminal litigation
in court or criminal arrest and prosecution. Proceedings under this Student Code may
be carried out prior to, simultaneously with, or following the institution of civil or criminal
court proceedings against the Accused Student. Determinations made or sanctions imposed
under this Student Code shall not be subject to change because criminal charges
arising out of the same facts giving rise to violation of University rules were dismissed,
reduced, or resolved in favor of or against the criminal law defendant.
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3.
4,
a.
b.
5.
6.

Disciplinary Proceedings Against a Student Charged with Sexual Assault, Sexual,
Intimate Partner, Domestic Violence or Other Sex Related Offense: See Section LE

Pre-Hearing Investigation and Administrative Disposition:

The Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator may conduct an investigation to
determine if the charges have merit and/or if they can be disposed of administratively
by mutual consent of the Accused Student and the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct
Administrator. Such disposition shall be final and there shall be no subsequent
proceedings. If the charges are not admitted and/or cannot be disposed of by mutual
consent, the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator may also present the case
for the University at any subsequent hearing, but if he or she does, he or she shall not
serve as a member of the Hearing Body.

The Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator may conduct an investigation to
determine if there is reason to believe the student has committed a violation of any part
of Section L.D. of the Code and, after considering both the possible violation and the
prior conduct record of the student, if the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct
Administrator determines that a sanction of less than residential hall separation or
suspension or expulsion from the University is appropriate, the Disciplinary Officer or
Conduct Administrator shall schedule an administrative conference with the student.
The student shall be given reasonable notice of the time and place of the conference.
At the administrative conference, the student shall have the opportunity to present
information for the Disciplinary Officer’s or Conduct Administrator’s consideration.
At the conclusion of the administrative conference, the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct
Administrator shall determine whether it is more likely than not that the student has
violated the Policy and, if so, impose a sanction less than residential hall separation, or
suspension or expulsion from the University. The Disciplinary Officer or Conduct
Administrator shall provide the student with a written explanation for the
determination. The decision of the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator shall
be final.

Hearing Bodies: A Student accused of misconduct has the right to be heard by an
impartial Hearing Body. Any concern surrounding the impartiality of the Hearing Body
or any member thereof will be referred to the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or
her designee, who will review the matter and make a determination. Any Hearing regarding
an accusation of sexual assault, sexual misconduct, intimate partner, domestic violence or
other sex related offense or intimate partner violence shall be conducted by an impartial
Hearing Body trained in issues relating to sexual assault, sexual violence, intimate partner,
and domestic violence.

Hearing Procedures:

a. Notice of Hearing: Normally, a hearing will be conducted within ten (10)
calendar days of the Accused Student being notified of the charges. Notice may be
provided to the Accused Student by in-hand delivery, by registered mail, with
delivery receipt attached or by certified mail, return receipt requested by University
email or by overnight delivery with signature of recipient required. Should the
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Accused Student refuse to accept in-hand delivery, a written statement of the
attempted delivery of the notice signed by the person attempting to make such
delivery shall constitute notice. Should the Accused Student refuse to sign for
registered or certified mail, the postal document indicating such refusal shall
constitute notice.

The notice shall advise the Accused Student of each section of the Student Code
alleged to have been violated and, with respect to each such section, a statement
of the acts or omissions which are alleged to constitute a violation of the Code,
including the approximate time when and the place where such acts or omissions
allegedly occurred.

The Accused Student shall be afforded a reasonable period of time to prepare for the
hearing, which period of time shall not be less than three (3) Calendar Days. The
Accused Student, the Reporting Party and/or any alleged victim may request a delay
of the hearing due to extenuating circumstances. Any decision to postpone the
hearing shall be made by the Disciplinary Officer or Conduct Administrator or by
the Hearing Body, or by the designee of the Vice President for Student Affairs.

b. Hearing: Hearings shall be closed, but the Hearing Body may, in its discretion,
admit any person into the hearing room. The Hearing Body shall have the authority
to discharge or to remove any person whose presence is deemed unnecessary or
obstructive to the proceedings.

The Accused Student, the Reporting Party and any alleged victim shall have the
right to be present at all stages of the hearing process except during the private
deliberations of the Hearing Body and the presentation of sanctions. In hearings
involving more than one Accused Student, the Hearing Body may determine that,
in the interest of fairness, separate hearings should be convened.

In any Hearing alleging sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic violence or
other sex related offense, any alleged victim and the Accused Student are entitled to:

1)  be accompanied to any meeting or proceeding by an advisor or support person
of their choice, provided that the advisor or support person does not cause a
scheduled meeting to be delayed or postponed;

2)  present evidence and witnesses on their behalf;
3)  in accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA),
to have their identities kept confidential.

In addition, the alleged victim of sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic
violence or other sex related offense is entitled to request that disciplinary
proceedings begin promptly.

c. Record of Hearing: When expulsion or suspension from the University or residence
hall separation is a possibility, the University shall make a recording of the hearing.
The recording shall be the property of the University. No other recordings shall be
made by any person during the hearing. Upon request, the Accused Student may
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review the recording in a designated University office in order to prepare for an
appeal of the decision rendered by the Hearing Body. Further disclosure of the
recording shall be governed by applicable state and federal law.

d. Opportunity to Present a Defense: The Accused Student shall have the full
opportunity to present a defense and information, including the testimony of
witnesses, in his or her behalf. The Reporting Party and the Accused Student may
question the statements of any person who testifies in a manner deemed appropriate
by the Hearing Body. The Reporting Party and the Accused Student may make
concluding statements regarding the charges made and the information presented
during the hearing. The Hearing Body may question the Accused Student and the
Reporting Party, any witness presented by the Accused Student or the Reporting
Party, and any other witness(e)s the Hearing Body may choose to call to testify.

e. Accused Student Can Choose Whether or Not to Testify in His or Her Own
Defense: The Accused Student who is present at the hearing shall be advised by the
Hearing Body that he or she is not required to testify, to answer questions, or to
make any statement regarding the complaint or the allegations set forth in the
complaint. Refusal to do so shall not be considered by the Hearing Body to
constitute evidence of responsibility.

f. Non-Appearance of Accused Student at Disciplinary Hearing: If an Accused
Student does not appear at a disciplinary hearing, the Hearing Body shall enter a
plea of “not responsible” on behalf of such student and the hearing shall proceed
in the normal manner of hearing evidence, weighing facts, and rendering
judgment. The failure of an Accused Student to appear at the disciplinary hearing
shall not be considered by the Hearing Body to constitute evidence of responsibility.

g. Advisors and Support Persons: The Reporting Party, any alleged victim, and
the Accused Student shall each have the right to be accompanied by an Advisor
and Support Person. The Advisor and the Support Person should be someone whose
schedule allows attendance at the scheduled date and time for the disciplinary
hearing because delays will not normally be allowed due to the scheduling conflicts
of an Advisor or Support Person.

h. Presentation of Evidence: Only evidence introduced at the hearing itself may be
considered by the Hearing Body in determining whether it is more likely than not that
the alleged violation was committed by the accused student.

1. Evidence of Prior Convictions or Disciplinary Actions: Evidence of prior
criminal convictions or University disciplinary actions may be presented to the
Hearing Body only after a determination of responsibility has been made and only
for consideration in connection with determining the sanction.

] Accommodation of Witnesses: The Hearing Body may accommodate concerns
for the personal safety, well-being, and/or fears of confrontation of the Reporting
Party, the Accused Student, and/or other witnesses during the hearing by
providing separate facilities, by using a visual screen, and/or by permitting
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participation by telephone, videophone, closed circuit television, video
conferencing, videotape, audio tape, written statement, or other means, where and as
determined in the sole judgment of the Hearing Body to be appropriate.

Written Notice of Decision: The Accused Student shall receive written notice of
the decision of the Hearing Body that shall set forth the decision rendered, including
a finding of “responsible” or “not responsible,” and the sanctions imposed, if any.
The decision of the Hearing Body, as well as the sanction(s) imposed, if any,
generally will not be released to third parties without the prior written consent of
the Accused Student. However, certain information may be released if and to the
extent authorized by state or federal law.

With respect to Hearings alleging sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic
violence or other sex related offense, any alleged victim shall receive written notice
of the decision of the Hearing Body at the same time as the Accused Student, normally
within one (1) business day after the conclusion of the Hearing.

In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) the
notice to any alleged victim of sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic
violence or other sex related offense shall contain only the following: the name of
the student, the violation committed and any sanction imposed against the student.

6. Review: An Accused Student may request that the decision of the Hearing Body be
reviewed by the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or her designee. A request for
review must be made in writing to the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or her
designee within three (3) Calendar Days of the Accused Student’s receipt of the written
notice of decision. For good cause shown, the Vice President for Student Affairs may
extend the three-University Calendar Day limitation on filing a request for a review. An
Accused Student may request only one review of each decision rendered by the Hearing
Body. A decision reached as a result of an Administrative Disposition may not be reviewed.

a.

Grounds for Review: The Accused Student has the right to request a review of the
decision of the Hearing Body on the grounds that: (i) the procedures set forth in
this Code were not followed and, as a result, the decision was substantially affected;
(i1) the sanction(s) imposed were not appropriate for the violation of the Code for
which the Accused Student was found responsible; and/or (iii)) new
information, sufficient to alter the decision, or other relevant facts were not brought
out in the original hearing because such information and/or facts were not known to
the Accused Student at the time of the original hearing. The review shall be limited
to a review of the record except as required to explain the basis of new information.

Review Procedures: In order to prepare for the review, the Accused Student may
review the recording of the original hearing in a designated University office but
will not be permitted to remove the recording from that office or make copies.
The review will not be heard by anyone involved in the initial hearing. The
review shall be considered and a decision rendered within ten (10) Calendar Days of
the filing of the request for review.
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If a request for review is granted, the matter shall be referred to the original
Hearing Body for reconsideration of its original determination or to a newly-
constituted Hearing Body for a new hearing, or the sanction imposed may be
reduced, as appropriate. If a request is not granted, the matter shall be considered
final and binding upon all involved.

c. Status of Student Pending Review: All sanctions imposed by the Hearing Body
shall be and continue in effect pending the outcome of a review. Any request to
delay the commencement of sanctions pending a review must be made by the
Accused Student, in writing, to the Vice President for Student Affairs or his or her
designee.

d. Withrespect only to Hearings related to sexual assault, sexual, intimate partner, domestic
violence or other sex offense, the alleged victim shall have the same right to request
a review in the same manner and on the same basis as shall the Accused Student as
set forth above; however, in such cases, if a review by any alleged victim is granted,
among the other actions that may be taken as set forth above, the sanction of the
Hearing may also be increased.

Upon review, if the decision or sanction of the disciplinary proceeding is changed,
any alleged victim must be notified in writing of the change indecision or sanction at
the same time that the Accused Student is notified.

PART C: INTERIM SUSPENSIONS AND RESIDENCE HALL SEPARATIONS

In certain circumstances, the Vice President for Student Affairs, or his or her designee, may impose
an interim suspension or residence hall separation on an Accused Student prior to the hearing before
the Hearing Body.

1.

Basis for Imposition of Interim Suspension or Residence Hall Separation: An interim
suspension may be imposed upon an Accused Student only: (i) to ensure the safety and
well-being of members of the University Community or preservation of University
property; (ii) to ensure the Student’s own physical or emotional safety and well-being; or
(i11) if the student poses an ongoing threat of disruption of, or interference with, the
normal operations of the University.

A residence hall separation may be imposed if a Student’s continued presence will disrupt
the academic and social well-being of the residential community. Residence hall separation
is the removal of a student from the University residence hall in which he or she resides.
Such separation may include a restriction of access to all or designate University residence
halls. During the period of the separation, the removed Student shall not be permitted
to enter the designated hall(s) as a guest of another resident.

An interim suspension or residence hall separation is not a sanction and will continue in
effect only until such time as a hearing on the alleged violation has been completed.
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Effect of Interim Suspension or Residence Hall Separation: During the interim
suspension or residence hall separation, the removed Student shall be denied access to the
residence halls and/or to the campus (including classes) and/or all other University activities
or privileges for which the Student might otherwise be eligible, as the Vice President for
Student Affairs, or his or her designee, may determine to be appropriate.

Procedure: The Accused Student shall be notified, either orally or in writing, of the
pending imposition of an interim suspension or residence hall separation. Whenever
possible prior to the imposition of the interim suspension or suspension, the affected Student
will be afforded an opportunity to meet with the Vice President for Student Affairs, or his
or her designee. Otherwise, the meeting will be held on the first Calendar Day that the
Student is available.

At that meeting, the Accused Student will be advised of his/her reported behavior and be
offered the opportunity to provide information upon which the determination may be based
whether or not the Student engaged in conduct warranting an interim suspension or
residence hall separation.

Any Student placed on an interim suspension will be given an opportunity to appear at an
administrative conference or a formal hearing on the misconduct charges lodged against
him or her in accordance with II.B.5 of this Code within ten (10) Calendar Days of being
placed on such suspension, or as soon as practical after the Accused Student is prepared to
participate in such a hearing.

PART D: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS

Sanctions which may be imposed for violations of the Student Code are listed below. In
determining appropriate sanctions, the Hearing Body may take into consideration any and all
prior violations of the Code for which the Accused Student was determined to be responsible.
The Hearing Body shall have the authority to defer the imposition of any sanction when deemed
appropriate. ~ The University may withhold awarding a degree otherwise earned until the
completion of the process set forth in this Student Code, including the completion of all
sanctions imposed, if any.

1.

Sanctions Which May Be Imposed for Violations of the Code: The following
sanctions may be imposed, individually or in various combinations, on any student found
to have violated the Student Code, and will be entered into the Student's disciplinary
records. Notation of disciplinary sanctions shall be on file only in the appropriate office
in the Division of Student Affairs and shall not be released without the written consent of
the Student except to appropriate University enforcement personnel, University police, staff
and administrators, or as required by law.

a. Warning: A disciplinary warning is a written notice to a Student advising him or
her that specific behavior or activity constitutes a violation of the Code and that
the repetition of such behavior will likely result in the commencement of more
serious disciplinary action by the University.
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b. Fine: A sanction involving the imposition of a specified dollar
amount due and payable by a specified date.

c. Probation: Disciplinary probation is a designated period of time during which a
Student is given the opportunity to modify unacceptable behavior and/or to complete
specific assignments in an effort to regain full student privileges within University
Community.  Disciplinary probation may involve the imposition of certain
restrictions and/or conditions upon the Student including, but not limited to,
financial restitution, community service, fines, referral for professional services
such as counseling, participation in educational programs, parental notification
under limited circumstances, and ineligibility to participate in University activities
or events. Periodic contact with a designated member of the University Community
or non-college professional may be required. If the Student fully complies with
the terms and conditions imposed in connection with the disciplinary probation, full
student privileges will be restored to the student
upon termination of the probationary period. Failure to comply with the terms
and conditions of the probation constitutes prohibited conduct that is separate
from and in addition to the conduct for which the probation was imposed. A Student
accused of violation of probation will be given due notice of the alleged violation
and the procedures set forth in this Code shall be followed.

d. Loss of Privileges: Denial of specified privileges for a designated period.

e. Restitution: Compensation for loss, damage to real or personal property. This
may take the form of appropriate service and/or monetary or material
replacement.

f. Discretionary Sanctions: Work assignments, essays, service to the University, or

other related discretionary assignments, referral for professional services such as
counseling, participation in educational programs, parental notification under limited
circumstances, and ineligibility to participate in University activities or events.
Periodic contact with a designated member of the University Community or non-
college professional may be required.

g. Residence Hall Warning: A written notice to a Student advising him or her that
specific behavior or activity constitutes a violation of the Code and that the
repetition of such behavior will likely result in the commencement of more
serious disciplinary action by the University.

h. Residence Hall Probation: Residence hall probation is a designated period during
which an Accused Student is given the opportunity to modify unacceptable behavior
and/or to complete specific assignments in an effort to regain full student privileges
within the residence hall in which the Student resides. Residence hall probation
may include restrictions and/or conditions on the exercise of residence hall activities
and privileges. Periodic contact with a designated member of the residence hall
staff or professional may be required. If the Accused Student fully complies with
the terms and conditions imposed in connection with the residence hall probation,
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full residence hall privileges will be restored to the Student upon termination of the
probationary period. Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of the
probation constitutes prohibited conduct that is separate from and in addition to
the conduct for which the probation was imposed. A Student accused of violation
of probation will be given due notice and the procedures set forth in this Code shall
be followed.

1. Residence Hall Separation: Separation of the Student from the residence halls
for a definite period of time, after which the Student is eligible to return. Conditions
for readmission may be specified.

] Residence Hall Expulsion: Permanent separation of the Student from the
residence halls.

k. Suspension: Suspension is temporary disciplinary separation from all universities
among CSCU and the denial of all student privileges. Suspension shall be effective
on the date that notice of the suspension is provided to the Accused Student, or later,
if so stated in the notice, and shall prescribe the date and conditions upon which the
Student may petition for readmission to the University. A Student separated from
all universities within CSCU by suspension may under the terms of the
suspension be excluded from the premises of all CSCU premises when in the
judgment of the suspending authority, the Student’s continued presence would
constitute a danger to persons or property or a threat to the academic process.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the suspending authority of the suspended
Student’s home University or his or her designee may authorize a suspended student
who has been excluded from all University premises to enter the premises of
the student’s home University for designated purposes.

1. Expulsion: Expulsion is permanent disciplinary separation from all universities
within CSCU and the denial of all student privileges. Expulsion shall be effective
on the date that notice of expulsion is provided to the Accused Student, or later, if
so stated in the notice. A student separated from all universities of CSCU by
expulsion may under the terms of the expulsion be excluded from all CSCU
Premises when in the judgment of the expelling authority the Student’s presence
would constitute a danger to persons or property or a threat to the academic process.

2. Revocation of Admission and/or Degree: Upon the recommendation of the Hearing
Body, admission to or a degree awarded from the University may be revoked by the
University, acting through its President (or his or her designee) for fraud, misrepresentation,
or other violation of University standards in obtaining admission or the degree.

3. Consequences of Failure to Comply with a Duly Assigned Sanction: Failure to
comply with sanctions which have been assigned through a formal judicial process may
lead to one or more of the following consequences:

a. Denial of access to certain university services, including, but not limited to
housing and parking;
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b. Denial of access to administrative processes, including, but not limited to, course
add/drop, pre-registration, registration, and room selection; and/or

c. Withholding of the privilege of participation in university sponsored activities
and/or public ceremonies, or formal disciplinary charges under I1.B hereof.

4. Sanctions Which May Be Imposed on Student Organizations
a. Sanctions: Those sanctions listed in subsections 1.a through f of Section I1.D.
b. Loss of recognition: Loss of recognition for a specified period of time results in

the loss of privileges, such as the use of university space, access to student
activity fee funding, and/or the privilege of functioning as a student organization.
Loss of recognition for more than two (2) semesters shall require that an organization
reapply for University recognition. Conditions for future recognition may be
imposed by the hearing body.
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III. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES
APPLICABLE TO COMMUNITY COLLEGE STUDENTS

Procedures for Community College students differ from those procedures applicable to either the
Universities or Charter Oak State College. This is due to the environmental, cultural and
administrative differences within the types of the institutions comprising CSCU. Procedures for
addressing allegations and sanctions regarding academic misconduct (as defined in Section 1.D.1
above) for Community College Students as set for in this Section III of the Code.

PART A: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES (Academic and Non-Academic Misconduct)
In regard to College Students, the following procedures shall govern the enforcement of the Code:

1. Information that a student may have violated the Code should be submitted to the Dean of Students,
Dean of Academic Affairs or other designee of the President (hereinafter referred to as “the
Dean”), normally within thirty (30) calendar days of the date of a possible violation or within thirty
(30) calendar days of the date that the facts constituting a possible violation were known.

2. Upon receipt of information relating to a possible violation, the Dean may immediately place
restrictions on or suspend a student on an interim basis if, in the judgment of the Dean, the
continued presence of the student at the College or continued participation in the full range of
college activities poses a danger to persons or property or constitutes an ongoing threat of
disrupting the academic process.

a. “Interim restrictions” are limitations on the Student’s participation in certain College functions
and activities, access to certain locations on campus or access to certain persons, that do not
prevent the Student from continuing to pursue his/her academic program. A Student upon
whom the Dean has placed interim restrictions shall be afforded written reasons for the
restrictions, as well as the time period during which the interim restrictions shall apply. The
decision of the Dean regarding interim restrictions shall be final.

b. “Interim suspension” is the temporary separation of the Student from the College that involves
the denial of all privileges, including entrance to College premises. Prior to imposing an
interim suspension, the Dean shall make a good faith effort to meet with the Student. At this
meeting, the Dean shall inform the Student of the information received and provide the Student
an opportunity to present other information for the Dean’s consideration. Based upon the
information available at that time, the Dean shall determine whether the Student’s continued
presence on campus poses a danger to persons or property or constitutes an ongoing threat of
disrupting the academic process. A Student suspended on an interim basis by the Dean shall
be provided written reasons for the suspension and shall be entitled to an administrative
conference or a hearing as soon as possible, normally within ten (10) calendar days from the
date the interim suspension was imposed. The decision of the Dean regarding an interim
suspension shall be final.

3. Following the imposition of interim restrictions or interim suspension, if any, the Dean shall
promptly investigate the information received by meeting with individuals who may have
knowledge of the matter, including the accused Student, and by reviewing all relevant documents.
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If upon the conclusion of the Dean’s investigation, the Dean determines that there is insufficient
reason to believe the Student has committed a violation of any part of Section I.D. of this Policy,
the Dean shall dismiss the matter and shall so inform the Student in writing.

4. If upon the conclusion of the Dean’s investigation, the Dean determines that there is reason to
believe the Student has committed a violation of any part of Section 1. D. of this Code and, after
considering both the possible violation and the prior conduct record of the Student, that a sanction
of less than suspension or expulsion is appropriate, the Dean shall schedule an administrative
conference with the Student. The Student shall be given reasonable notice of the time and place
of the conference. At the administrative conference, the Student shall have the opportunity to
present information for the Dean’s consideration. At the conclusion of the administrative
conference, the Dean shall determine whether it is more likely than not that the Student has violated
the Policy and, if so, impose a sanction less than suspension or expulsion. The Dean shall provide
the Student with a written explanation for the determination. The decision of the Dean shall be
final.

5. If upon the conclusion of the Dean’s investigation, the Dean determines that there is reason to
believe the Student has committed a violation of any part of Section I.D. of this Code and, after
considering both the violation and the prior conduct record of the Student, that a sanction of
suspension or expulsion is appropriate, the Dean shall provide the Student with reasonable written
notice of a meeting and shall inform the Student that his/her failure to attend the meeting or to
respond to the notice may result in the imposition of the maximum permissible sanction. At the
meeting, the Dean shall provide the Student with a written statement that shall include the

following:
a. a concise statement of the alleged facts;
b. the provision(s) of Section I.D. that appear to have been violated;
c. the maximum permissible sanction; and
d. astatement that the student may resolve the matter by mutual agreement with the Dean, or

may request a hearing by notifying the Dean in writing, which must be received by 5:00pm
on the following business day.

6. If the Student requests a hearing, he/she is entitled to the following:

a. to be heard within five (5) days or as soon as reasonably possible, by an impartial party or
panel whose members shall be appointed by the Dean;

b. if the Dean appoints an impartial panel, to have a Student on the panel if requested by the
Student;

c. to appear in person and to have an advisor who not shall attend as a representative of the
Student. However, if there is pending at the time of the hearing a criminal matter pertaining
to the same incident that is the subject of the hearing, a lawyer may be present for the sole
purpose of observing the proceedings and advising the Student concerning the effect of the
proceedings on the pending criminal matter;

d. to hear and to question the information presented;

e. topresent information, to present witnesses, and to make a statement on his or her behalf; and

f. toreceive a written decision following the hearing.

7. As used herein, the term “impartial” shall mean that the individual was not a party to the incident
under consideration and has no personal interest in the outcome of the proceedings. Prior to the
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commencement of the hearing, the Student who is subject to the hearing may challenge the
appointment of an impartial party or panel member on the ground that the person(s) is (are) not
impartial. The challenge shall be made in writing to the Dean and shall contain the reasons for the
assertion that the person(s) is (are) not impartial. The decision of the Dean shall be final.

8. The written decision of the impartial party or panel shall specify whether, based on the information
presented, it is more likely than not that the Student committed the violation(s) reported and shall
state the sanction to be imposed, if any. The written decision shall be provided to the Student.

9. Sanctions imposed by an impartial party or panel are effective immediately. The President may,
for good cause, suspend imposition of the sanctions imposed by the impartial party or panel to
allow the Student time to prepare a written request for review. If a written request is received, the
President may continue to suspend imposition of the sanctions until he has reviewed and acted on
the Student’s request.

10. A written request for review of the decision of the impartial party or panel must be received by
the President within three (3) calendar days after the Student is notified of the decision and must
clearly identify the grounds for review. The review by the President is limited to the record of the
hearing, the written request, and any supporting documentation submitted with the request by the
Student. The decision of the impartial party or the panel shall be upheld unless the President finds
that:

a. aviolation of the procedures set forth herein significantly prejudiced the Student; and/or

b. the information presented to the impartial party or panel was not substantial enough to justify
the decision; and/or,

c. the sanction(s) imposed was (were) disproportionate to the seriousness of the violation.

11. Decisions under this procedure shall be made only by the college officials indicated.

PART B: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS

The prior conduct record of a Student shall be considered in determining the appropriate sanction for
a Student who has been found to have violated any part of Section I.D. of this Code. Sanctions shall
be progressive in nature; that is, more serious sanctions may be imposed if warranted by the prior
conduct record of the Student.

A “sanction” may be any action affecting the status of an individual as a Student taken by the College
in response to a violation of this Policy, and for the purposes of this Section III of the Code include
but are not limited to the following:

1. “Expulsion” is a permanent separation from the College that involves denial of all Student
privileges, including entrance to College premises;

2. “Suspension” is a temporary separation from the College that involves denial of all Student
privileges, including entrance to college premises for the duration of the suspension, and may
include conditions for reinstatement;
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3. “Removal of College Privileges” involves restrictions on Student access to certain locations,
functions and/or activities but does not preclude the Student from continuing to pursue his/her
academic program,;

4. “Probation” is a status that indicates either (a) serious misconduct not warranting expulsion,
suspension, or removal of College privileges, or (b) repetition of misconduct after a warning has
been imposed;

5. A “Warning” is a written notice to the Student indicating that he or she has engaged in conduct that
is in violation of Section I.D. of this Code and that any repetition of such conduct or other conduct
that violates this Code is likely to result in more serious sanctions;

6. “Community Restitution” requires a Student to perform a number of hours of service on the campus
or in the community at large.
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IV. CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES
APPLICABLE TO CHARTER OAK STATE COLLEGE
STUDENTS

Procedures for Charter Oak State College students differ from those procedures applicable to either
the Community Colleges or the Universities. This is due to the environmental, cultural, and
administrative differences within the types of the institutions comprising CSCU. Procedures for
addressing allegations and sanctions regarding academic misconduct (as defined in Section L.D.1
above) for Charter Oak State College Students as set for in this Section IV of the Code.

PART A: RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF HEARING PARTICIPANTS
Hearing participants may include the accused student(s), a complainant, witnesses, support
person(s), and the members of the hearing body.

The complaining party, any alleged victim, and the student who has been charged shall each have the
right to:

1.  Benotified of all charges.

2. Review any written complaint(s) submitted in support of the charge(s).

3.  Beinformed of the hearing process.

4.  Request a delay of a hearing due to extenuating circumstances.

5. Beaccompanied by an advisor or support person during the hearing.

6. Be present at all stages of the hearing process except during the private deliberations of the
hearing body.

7. Submit a written statement regarding the incident.

8.  Give a personal statement.

9.  Question all statements and other information presented at the hearing.

10. Present information and witnesses when deemed appropriate and relevant by the hearing

body.

11. Be informed of the finding(s) as well as any sanctions imposed.

12.  Present a personal or community impact statement to the hearing body upon a finding of
"Violation."

In addition to the above-mentioned rights, a student who has been charged with a violation of the
Student Code of Conduct shall have the right to:

1.  Be notified of the proposed information to be presented and to know the identity of
witnesses who have been called to speak at the hearing when the Chair of the disciplinary
hearing knows such information.

2. Request an alternate hearing panel member when there is reasonable cause to believe that
the hearing panel will be unable to conduct an impartial hearing.

3. Be presumed not to be in "violation" of the code unless the facts presented at the hearing

prove otherwise.

Deny or admit violating the Code of Conduct.

Decline to give a personal statement.

Present Character Witnesses, if appropriate.

Receive a written notice of the sanction(s) imposed.

Noawnbk
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PART B: DISCIPLINARY PROCEDURES

The Administration and the Faculty of Charter Oak State College believe that all members of the
academic community are entitled to expect compliance with Section I.D.1 Prohibited Conduct.
Accordingly, any Student or employee of the College may initiate a disciplinary process in the
manner specified by this section. Once the process has been initiated, all subsequent decisions
concerning possible discipline of a Student or students rest with the appropriate College

officials. The President shall designate the Provost or another College official to have responsibility
for the disciplinary procedures.

1. A statement of possible violation must be filed in writing with the Provost within thirty
(30) business days of the date of the alleged violation or within thirty (30) business days
of the date the alleged violation was known. Said statement must specify the Student
conduct in question and the part or parts of Section .D.1 Prohibited Conduct, which it is
alleged said conduct violates, if applicable.

2. If the Provost determines that the alleged conduct may violate the provisions of the Code
or otherwise threatens the safety or order of the College, the Provost shall, within ten
(10) business days of receiving a written statement, provide written notice to the Student
of the statement of possible violation(s) and the fact that the allegations will be
investigated. The investigation shall be conducted by the Provost and/or his or her
designee(s), and may include but not be limited to interviews with witnesses, the
complainant(s), and review of any pertinent materials and information, and shall include
an interview with the Student suspected in engaging in misconduct conduct unless the
Student suspected declines to be interviewed. The investigation shall be completed
within thirty (30) business days of the Provost's receipt of the written statement of
possible violation. A record of the investigations will be maintained.

3. Following completion of the informal investigation specified above, the Provost will (a)
determine that there is insufficient basis in fact and dismiss the matter or (b) conclude
that there is a sufficient factual basis for discipline.

4. If the Provost determines there is a sufficient factual basis for moving forward with
disciplinary proceedings, he or she shall cause a written statement of charges to be
provided to the Student. Said statement shall contain (a) a concise statement of the facts
on which the charge is based; (b) a citation of the rule or rules alleged to have been
violated; (c) a statement of the maximum penalty sought; (d) a statement that the Student
may request a hearing by responding in writing to the Provost within thirty (30) business
days requesting such hearing; and (e) a statement that failure to request a hearing may
result in imposition of the penalty sought.

5. If the Student requests a formal hearing, the Student is entitled to the following: (a) a
hearing be conducted within thirty (30) business days after receipt by Provost of a
written request for a hearing; (b) to be heard by an impartial panel chaired by the Dean
of the Faculty or his/her designee and composed of no fewer than two members of the
Charter Oak State College Faculty, one appointed by the Dean of the Faculty and one
Student appointed by the Student Association; (c) to appear in person or through a
conference call or other mutually agreed upon electronic means, or to have a
representative attend on his/her behalf; (d) be accompanied by a support person during
the hearing; (e) to hear and have a reasonable opportunity to question adverse witnesses
and to present evidence and testimony in his/her behalf; and (f) to receive a written
decision within ten (10) business days following the hearing specifying the panel's
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findings and the penalty assessed, if any. The hearing shall be taped and a record shall
be maintained of this hearing.
6. Hearing: A hearing shall be conducted following the guidelines specified below:

On-site:

A hearing shall be conducted in private.

Admission of any person into the hearing room shall be at the discretion of the
chair of the hearing body. The chair, who is the Dean of the Faculty or his/her
designee, shall have the authority to discharge or to remove any person whose
presence is deemed unnecessary or obstructive to the proceeding.

Except as directed by the chair, support persons shall limit their role in a hearing
to that of a consultant to the accused, to the complainant or to the victim.

The complainant and the accused are responsible for presenting their respective
witnesses, any additional information, and any concluding statements regarding
the charges and the information.

In a manner deemed appropriate by the chair, the complainant and/or the accused
may question the statements of any person who testifies.

The hearing panel may question any witness presented by the accused and the
complainant, including the complainant and the accused as well as any other
witnesses the chair may choose to call.

Pertinent records, exhibits, and written statements may be accepted as
information for consideration by the Hearing Body at the discretion of the chair.
All procedural questions are subject to the final decision of the chair or the
Provost.

After the hearing has concluded, the hearing panel, in private, will decide
whether the Student charged with misconduct is in violation of the Student Code
of Conduct. The Dean of the Faculty or his/her designee may participate in the
discussion, but is a non-voting member. Only evidence introduced at the hearing
shall be considered in the determination of the decision. Each decision shall be
made on the basis of whether or not the information presented at the hearing
substantiates the charges in a more likely than not manner.

If the panel finds that the student violated the Student Conduct Code, the panel,
in private, shall review the Student's academic transcript and disciplinary record,
hear a character witness, if appropriate, and impose the appropriate sanction (s).
The decision of the panel will be provided in writing to the Provost. The decision
and sanction will be sent to the student in writing by the Provost.

A taped record of the hearing will be maintained. The record shall be the
property of the College.

Via the Phone:

a.

b.

For the accused or complainant who cannot attend in person, Charter Oak State
College will set up a conference call.

Twenty-one (21) business days before the hearing, the Provost must receive all
materials to be presented by the accused and by the complainant, including the
names and relationships of the character witnesses and support persons. The
Provost will send copies of the materials to the hearing panel, the accused, and
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the complainant at least seven (7) business days before the hearing. The Provost
will arrange for the conference call.

c. The procedures outlined in the "on- site" section will be followed, unless they
specifically apply only to the on-site hearing.

d. Within ten (10) business days of the conclusion of the formal hearing, a Student
may appeal the decision, in writing, to the President. An appeal shall be limited
to a consideration of the verbatim record of the hearing and supporting
documents for one or more of the following: a.) the process set forth in the
guidelines was not followed and resulted in prejudice to the Student; b.) the
evidence presented was insufficient to justify the decision; and c.) sanction(s)
imposed was/were disproportionate to the gravity of the offense. The President
may accept the decision of the hearing panel, overturn their decision, return the
matter to the original hearing panel, or appoint a new hearing panel. The decision
of the original hearing panel or the new hearing panel or the President will be
sent to the Student in writing by the President and will be final.

e. During any appeal period, any sanctions will remain in place and the Student will
not be allowed to participate in a graduation ceremony nor graduate until the
review process has been completed and a final decision rendered.

PART C: INTERIM ADMINISTRATIVE ACTION

The President or his/her designee may impose an interim "College Suspension" and/or other
necessary restrictions on a Student prior to a hearing on the Student's alleged violation. Such action
may be taken when, in the professional judgment of the President or his/her designee, a threat of
imminent harm to persons or property exists.

Interim Administrative Action is not a sanction. Rather, it is an action to protect the safety and well-
being of an accused Student, or other members of the College community, or greater community or
to protect property. Such action is in effect only until a hearing is completed.

PART D: DISCIPLINARY SANCTIONS

Disciplinary penalty shall mean any action affecting the status of an individual as a Student taken by
the College in response to a Student's misconduct in violation of Section I.D.1 Prohibited Conduct
above, which penalties shall include but not be limited to:

1. Warning - A written notice that the Student has violated College Policy and a warning
that another violation will likely result in a more severe sanction.

2. Restitution - Compensation for loss of or damage to property.

3. Academic Sanctions

4. Suspension - Suspension is a temporary disciplinary separation from the College

involving denial of all Student privileges, including entrance to College premises. A

notation of "suspension" will be placed in the Student database but will not be placed on

the Student transcript. Charter Oak State College will not accept credits earned at

another institution or through any other means during a period of suspension.

Suspensions shall range from one semester to two years.

Students who are suspended will receive no refund of tuition or fees.

6. A Student who has been suspended must apply for re-matriculation if he/she plans to
return.

7. Expulsion - Expulsion is mandatory separation from the College involving denial of all
Student privileges, including entrance to college premises for a minimum of 5 years.
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After the length of the term for expulsion has expired, the Student may request in
writing directed to the Provost permission to re-matriculate. That permission must
indicate why Charter Oak State College should allow the Student to return.

8. Charter Oak State College will not accept credits earned at another institution or through
any other means during a period of expulsion. A permanent notation of "Dismissed"
shall be placed on the Student's transcript.

Failure to comply with requirements of Restitution or Academic Sanctions above will result in
dismissal from the institution. The Student must complete the requirements of the sanction before
he/she would be allowed to apply for readmission and/or graduate.

Approved 3/13/2014; amended 4/17/2014; 1/15/2015, 6/16/2016



Rice, Paula

Subject: FW: Important Information on Sexual Misconduct Reporting

From: "ricepl @southernct.edu"” <ricepl @southernct.edu>
Date: Tuesday, September 11, 2018 at 2:08 PM

To: "Dilger, Patrick J." <dilgerpl @southernct.edu>

Subject: Important Information on Sexual Misconduct Reporting

Dear Southern Student,

At Southern Connecticut State University (SCSU), we are committed to creating a community where individuals are
treated with respect, dignity, civility, kindness, and compassion. Your health and safety are a top priority! In line with
this mission, we comply with Title IX of the Education Amendment of 1972 which prohibits sex discrimination including
acts of sexual misconduct at educational institutions. Acts of sexual misconduct (sexual harassment, sexual assault,
intimate partner violence (dating/domestic violence), sexual exploitation, and stalking) are a violation of Southern
Connecticut State University policy (click here http://www.ct.edu/files/pdfs/hr-policy-sexual-misconduct.pdf ) and state
law. We encourage you to report any incidents of sexual misconduct and/or utilize the support and advocacy services
available to you.

Responsible Employees

All employees, including faculty, staff and administrators, are responsible employees and are required to report
disclosures or reports of sexual misconduct except for those University employees in our Health Center and Counseling
Center. This means that when you report or disclose information regarding sexual misconduct to a responsible
employee they will need to report this to the University’s Title IX Coordinator. The University Advocate will then be
contacted and provide you with information including supportive services, reporting options and your Title IX rights.

Please note that if you are under the age of eighteen (18) the Title IX Coordinator must contact the Connecticut
Department of Children and Families to inform them of the alleged situation involving sexual misconduct.

FORMAL REPORTING OPTIONS
University Police @ 203.392.5375
(If you wish to press criminal charges.)

Ms. Paula Rice, Title IX Coordinator @203.392.5568
(If you wish to file a complaint with the university.)

Office of Student Conduct and Civic Responsibility, Christopher Piscitelli @ 203.392.6188
(If you wish to file a complaint with the university and the perpetrator is a student.)

Anonymous Reports, please click here http://www.southernct.edu/university-police/silent-witness.html

ADVOCACY & SUPPORT SERVICES

Catherine Christy, Director of VPAS, SART Coordinator, University Victim Advocate

@ (203) 392-6946 (0) (203) 687-1252 (c)

Melissa Kissi, Sexual Assault and Violence Prevention Specialist, University Victim Advocate
@ (203) 392-6946 (0) (203) 687-1252 (c)

Confidential Support Services



Rice, Paula

Subject: FW: Sexual Misconduct Reporting Policy and Protocol

From: Rice, Paula

Sent: Thursday, September 27, 2018 12:07 PM

To: Dilger, Patrick J. <dilgerpl @southernct.edu>

Subject: RE: Sexual Misconduct Reporting Policy and Protocol

To All University Faculty & Staff,

Southern Connecticut State University is highly committed to creating a campus free of sexual misconduct. The BOR
established a policy concerning sexual misconduct reporting, last revised in June of 2016
(http://www.ct.edu/files/pdfs/hr-policy-sexual-misconduct.pdf). The policy requires the reporting of sexual misconduct
in an effort to ensure that each member of the community has the opportunity to fully participate in the process of
education and development. The policy is intended to supplement and work in congruence with the requirements of
Title IX and Connecticut Public Act 14-11. It is our commitment to provide a supportive and safe environment for our
community and provide survivors with support and advocacy services.

As a Southern Connecticut State University employee, you may find yourself responding to a student or other
employee’s report or disclosure of sexual misconduct (sexual harassment, sexual assault, sexual exploitation, intimate
partner violence, and stalking) All university employees are considered responsible employees and are mandated to
report under the BOR policy, except those employees whose official responsibilities provide confidentiality (health
providers, professional counselors, and pastoral counselors whose official responsibilities include providing mental-
health counseling to members of the University community).

The following protocol has been developed for employees to follow if they find themselves in a position in which a
student or other employee discloses or reports being a survivor of sexual misconduct
https://www.southernct.edu/offices/diversity/Sexual-Misconduct-Protocol%202016-17.pdf. This protocol describes
your reporting obligations and a process for informing, in a timely manner, those who report or disclose any type of
sexual misconduct of all of their rights and options, including the necessary steps and potential outcomes of each
option.

We understand and recognize the significant trust relationship and the difficult situation you are placed in when a
student/employee requests confidentiality. To help mitigate these challenges students/employees have been informed
that all faculty, staff and administrators must share information with the University and that they have options for
confidential reporting.

We recognize the importance of providing training for employees on the topic of sexual misconduct and thus CSCU has
rolled out a new on-line training program entitled Not Anymore for students and employees. This training is intended to
help you learn more about the topic and equip you with the tools and knowledge needed to uphold your obligations as
a responsible employee. An email with instructions on how to access the training will be send out in the next few

days. In addition, we have informational links at the bottom of this correspondence that provides additional guidance
and education on the topic of sexual misconduct.
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SCSU Advocacy and Support Resources
Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy
and Support (VPAS) Center
SouthernCT.edu/vpas

Support and Resource Team (SART)
SouthernCT.edu/sart

atherine Christy, SART Coordinator, University Victim Ad
Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support (VPAS) C
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SART

RESOURCE
GUIDE

ON CAMPUS = 24/7

*University Police 203-392-5375 or 911
*University Victim Advocate —Catherine Christy
203-392-6946 office = 203-687-1252 cell
*University Victim Advocate — Melissa Kissi
203-392-6945 office » 203-507-3751 cell

ON CAMPUS = M-F, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
«Counseling Services (Confidential) 203-392-5475
~Health Center (Confidential) 203-392-6300
=Marriage and Family Clinic (Confidential)
203-392-6413 (Mon., Tues., Thurs.: 9aAM — 8pM, Sat.: 9AM —
12PMm)

=Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support
Center (VPAS) 203-392-6946

«Title IX Coordinator Paula Rice 203-392-5568

*Office of Diversity and Equity 203-392-5491

=Office of Student Conduct and Civic Responsibility
203-392-6188

<Human Resources: Diane Mazza (for employees)
203-392-5405

=Multicultural Center 203-392-5879

=Interfaith Office 203-392-5331

*Sexuality and Gender Equality Center (SAGE)
203-392-8989

 SouthernCT.edu/sart

OFF CAMPUS = 24/7

=Women & Families Center 24-hour hotline
(Confidential) 1-888.999.5545 = Spanish 1-888-568-8332
=The Umbrella Center for Domestic Violence Services
24-hour hotline (Confidential) 203.789.8104

MSour_hem Connecticut
State University
SC

SU southernCT.edu/sart

YOU ARE NOT ALONE -
WE ARE HERE TO HELP!

SART
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L8 State University

SU southernCT.edu /sart

ARE YOU A VICTIM OR SURVIVOR OF SEXUAL HARASSMENT, SEXUAL ASSAULT,
INTIMATE PARTNER VIOLENCE, STALKING, OR SEXUAL EXPLOITATION?

IF SO, HERE ARE YOUR OPTIONS:

The mission of SART is to provide services
that ensure a fransition from victim to
survivor for every individual impacted by
sexual misconduct.

REPORTING

«To press criminal charges if the offender is an employee or

student, contact University Police at 203-392-5375.
*To press charges with the university if the offender is a

student, contact the Office of Student Conduct and Civic

Responsibility at 203-392-6188.

«To press charges with the university if the offender is an
employee or student, contact the Title X Coordinator
Paula Rice at 203-392-5568.

*Make an Anonymous Report: Silent Witness Program

If you have witnessed a crime, or you know a crime was
committed or will be committed, please visit

SouthernCT.edu/silentwitness. A member of the SCSU Police

Department will investigate.

SUPPORT & ADVOCACY
*For students, confidential on-campus support options:
- SCSU Counseling Services 203-392-5475
- SCSU Health Center 203-392-6300
- SCSU Marriage and Family Clinic 203-392-6413
*For students, on-campus advocacy options:
Advocacy services are available to assist you in finding

support services, the reporting process and can answer any

questions.

- Catherine Christy

203-392-6946 office = 203-687-1252 cell

- Melissa Kissi

203-392-6945 office » 203-507-3751 cell
*For employees:

- Diane Mazza, Human Resources 203-392-5405
*For students and employees, confidential
off-campus options:

- Women & Families Center 24 hotline

1-888-999-5545 « (Spanish)1-888-568-8332

- The Umbrella Center for Domestic Violence Services

24-hour hotline 203.789.8104

HOW YOU CAN HELP PREVENT VIOLENCE
ON CAMPUS
Sexual harassment, sexual assault, intimate partner
violence, stalking and sexual exploitation are complex
and real issues on college campuses, including SCSU.
To address this reality all members of the campus
community and outside agencies must work together.
Public safety is everyone’s responsibility. By increasing
our knowledge and acknowledging our ability to
make a difference at SCSU, we can begin to reduce
the risk. Consider the following ways you can help to
stop violence:

*Don't be afraid to get involved.

*Take care of yourself and your friends.

*Talk openly with friends about these issues.

*Speak up. Take a stand safely in situations

that could escalate to abuse and violence.

REMEMBER:

You are NEVER to blame.

Jjal assault,
talking,
and sexual exploitation are about ¢
and control, and are NOT caused by

something you have done, what you

were wearing, or your relationship

to the offender.



WHAT IS SEXUAL HARASSMENT?

Sexual harassment is any unwelcome sexual advance or request
for sexual favors, or any conduct of a sexual nature when
submission to or rejection of such conduct is made either explicitly
or implicitly a basis for academic decisions affecting the individual
or such conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially
interfering with an individual’s academic performance, or creating
an intimidating, hostile, or offensive educational environment.
Examples: sexual flirtation, advances, or propositions; verbal
abuse of a sexual nature; graphic or suggestive comments about
an individual’s dress or appearance; display of sexually suggestive
objects or pictures; sexual jokes; stereotypic comments based on
gender; threats, demands or suggestions that maintaining one’s
educational status is based on accepting the sexual advances.

WHAT IS SEXUAL ASSAULT?

Sexual assault is a crime and will not be tolerated at SCSU.
Sexual assault is compelling by force, or threat of force: sexual
penetration of the vagina, anus, or mouth including by an
object, which are all considered rape; or contact with a person’s
genital area, groin, anus, inner thighs, buttocks, or breasts for
the purpose of exerting control or for the purpose of degrading
or humiliating the victim. It is also intentionally subjecting
another to such contact without consent. Any person can be a
victim or a offender. Sexual assault is not about sex— is about
exerting power and control over the victim. Examples: rape,
attempted rape, and/or intentional touching without consent of
a person’s body.

WHAT IS INTIMATE PARTNER VIOLENCE?

Intimate partner violence is any physical or sexual harm against
an individual by a current or former spouse or person in a dating
relationship that may be classified as sexual assault, stalking, or
domestic violence. Examples: physical abuse (slapping, shoving,
hair pulling, forcing alcohol or drug use on victim), sexual abuse
(coerced or forced sexual contact), emotional abuse (name-
calling, constant criticism) psychological abuse (causing fear by

intimidation, destruction of pets/property, isolation from
family/friends/school/work).

WHAT IS STALKING?

Stalking is engaging in a course of conduct directed at a specific
person that would cause a reasonable person to fear for her or
his safety or suffer substantial emotional distress. Examples:
sending unwanted gifts, text messages, emails, phone calls;
waiting at places you work/ go to school/hang out; using other
people as resources to investigate your life (looking at your
Facebook through befriending your friends); damage to your
home/car/other property; using social networking sites/
technology to track you.

WHAT IS SEXUAL EXPLOITATION?

Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes non-consensual
or abusive sexual advantage of another for anyone’s advantage
or benefit other than the person being exploited, and that
behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding
sexual misconduct offenses. Examples: Prostituting another
person; non-consensual video- taping or photographing of
sexual activity, non-consensual distribution of photos or
information about sexual activity, going beyond the bounds of
consent (one individual allowing friends to hide in the closet to
watch him or her have sex with the partner unaware of this).

WHAT IS CONSENT?

Consent is when all parties involved willingly agree to a specific
sexual act. It is not the absence of “no” or of resistance— it is
someone actively saying “yes” through word or actions. Consent
is ongoing and allows for withdrawal of consent at any time
without fear of humiliation or retaliation. Just because you may
have been sexually active with the person before does not mean
that you have consent for future sexual contact. Consent cannot
be given if forced, threatened, intimidated, or coerced.
Obtaining consent is the responsibility of the person initiating
the sexual contact. Consent cannot be given when under the
influence of alcohol or drugs, or if the person is asleep or
unconscious. Having sexual intercourse with someone who
cannot consent is rape.

MSouthern Connecticut State University

SO

WHAT TO DO IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING

AN INCIDENT

1. Go to a safe place. If you are not safe, call University Police at
203-392-5375 or 911

2. Preserve all evidence.
Sexual Harassment and Stalking: Save any gifts, emails, text
messages, and create a log of all suspicious activity.
Intimate Partner Violence: Document all incidents in a log as well
as take pictures of physical injuries and store in a place that the
abuser cannot find.
Sexual Assault: Save all clothing from the time of the assault; do
not shower, bathe, douche, or brush your teeth. You may bring a
support person of your choice with you to the hospital to have an
Evidence Collection Kit performed, including a friend or
advocate from the Women and Families Center. Even if you are
undecided about whether or not you want to file a police report,
you are encouraged to have evidence collected as soon as possible
(within 5 days, but best within 3 days). You do not need to file a
police report in order to have the Evidence Collection Kit
performed. There is time to change your mind to file a report but
there is limited time to collect evidence. This is the best way to
keep your options open for the future.
Please note that the kit is at no expense to you or your insurance.
Sexual Exploitation: Save copies of videos to an external hard
drive, print and save copies of websites or social media, save any
type of communication regarding the exploitative images, and
document all incidents in a log.

w

. Get medical care. Whether or not you decide to have evidence
collected, you still have the option of obtaining medication to
prevent sexually transmitted infections and/or pregnancy, and
general medical care, all available at SCSU Health Center,
203-392-6300.

VICTIMS AND SURVIVORS SHOULD:

* Be treated with respect and dignity.

* Not be judged based on race, age, class, gender, gender
expression, or sexual orientation.

- Be considered a victim/survivor regardless of the offender’s
relationship to you.

- Seek help from law enforcement or university employees
without fear of disciplinary action for a violation of campus
drug/alcohol policy.

+ Know you can have confidential conversations with staff at
SCSU Counseling Services (203-392-5475), SCSU Health Center
(203-392-6300), and SCSU Marriage and Family Therapy Clinic
(203-392-6413)

For information on advocacy and SART members visit the SART

website or see resource guide panel for assistance with the

following:

* To be informed of your Title IX rights, reporting options and
support and advocacy services.

* Have an advocate accompany you to medical exams, law
enforcement, and legal proceedings.

* Request that someone you are comfortable with stay with you
during a medical exam/Evidence Collection Kit.

+ Ask questions and get answers regarding any tests, exams,
medications, treatments or police reports.

+ Assistance with on-campus living arrangements, classes, work
schedule and other accommodations following an incident to
whatever extent possible and reasonable.

LOCAL HOSPITALS

SouthernCT.edu/sart



¢Eres una victima / sobreviviente de
Acoso Sexual, Asalto Sexual, violencia
en la pareja, el acecho o explotacion
sexual?
Informacién, ayuda y opciones de promocion

Opciones para crear reportes o denuncias

e Para presentar cargos penales y el autor es un
empleado o estudiante, comuniquese con la
policia universitaria @ 203.392.5375.

e Para presentar cargos con la universidad y el
autor es un estudiante, comuniquese con la
Oficina de Conducta Estudiantil y
Responsabilidad Civil @ 203.392.6188.

e Para presentar cargos con la universidad y el
perpetrador es un empleado o estudiante,
comuniquese con el Coordinador del Titulo IX @
203.392.5899.

e Hacer un reporte anénimo — Programa de testigo
anoénimo; Si usted ha sido testigo de un delito, o
usted sabe que se cometi6 o se va a cometer un
delito, por favor visite
SouthernCT.edu/silentwitness. Un miembro del
Departamento de Policia de SCSU investigara la
informacién presentada.

Apoyo y Defensa

. Hable con alguien confidencial en campus
(estudiantes): SCSU Servicios de Consejeria @
203.392.5475 o Centro de Salud SCSU @
203.392.6300.

e Hable con un Abogado Universitario para
Victimas (estudiantes): Los servicios de defensa
estan disponibles para ayudarle a encontrar
servicios de apoyo, el proceso de someter un
informe y pueden responder a cualquier
pregunta. Catherine Christy @ 203.392.6946
(0), 203.687.1252 (c). Ella puede mantener la
informacién confidencial a menos que sea citado.
Melissa Richard @ 203.392.6945 (o),
203.507.3751 (c). Ella no es confidencial.

e Hable con recursos humanos (empleados):
Diane Mazza @ 203.392.5405. Se proporcionara
informacién sobre los recursos.

e Hable con alguien Confidencial fuera del campus
(estudiantes y empleados): Linea directa de 24
horas del Centro de Mujeres y Familias
1.888.999.5545 (Espanol) 1-888-568-8332

Linea directa de 24 horas de El Centro
de Umbrela para servicios de violencia
domeéstica 203.789.8104

Recursos de la Universidad

24 horas / 7 dias a la semana
Policias Universitarios @ 203.392.5375 0 al 911
Abogados Universitarios para las victimas estan
disponibles 24 /7 cuando se hace un informe a un
miembro de la escuela.
Catalina Christy @ 203.392.6946 (o), 203.687.1252 (c).

Melissa Kissi @ 203.392.6945 (o), 203.507.3751 (c).
Lunes-Viernes 8:30 am-4: 30 pm
Servicios de Consejeria (Confidencial) 203.392.5475
Centro de Salud (Confidencial)) 203.392.6300

Miembros SART SouthernCT.edu/sart

Prevencion de la Violencia, Defensa para Victimas

y centro de apoyo (VPAS) 203.392.6946
Coordinador de Titulo IX Paula Rice 203.392.5568
Oficina de Diversidad e Igualdad 203.392.5491
Oficina de Conducta Estudiantil 203.392.6188
y Responsabilidad Civica
Recursos Humanos (empleados),
Diane Mazza

Centro Multicultural

Oficina de interreligiosa

203.392.5405

203.392.5879
203.392.5331

Recursos de la comunidad local

24 horas / 7 dias a la semana
Confidencial

El Centro de Umbrella para la violencia doméstica
203.789.8104
Centro de Mujeres y Familias, Servicios de Crisis de
Asalto Sexual
(En) 1-888-999-5545
(Sp) 1-888-568-8332

¢Como podemos todos ayudar a combatir la violencia en
SCsu?

El acoso sexual, asalto sexual, violencia en la pareja, el acecho
y la explotacion sexual son temas complejos y reales en los
campus universitarios , incluyendo SCSU. Para hacer frente a
esta realidad todos los miembros de la comunidad universita-
ria y las organizaciones externas deben trabajar juntos. La
seguridad publica es responsabilidad de todos. Al aumentar
nuestro conocimiento y el reconocimiento de nuestra capaci-
dad de hacer una diferencia en SCSU, podemos comenzar a
reducir el riesgo . Considere las siguientes maneras que usted
puede ayudar a detener la violencia:

e No tenga miedo de involucrarse.

® Cuidese a si mismo y sus amigos.

e Hable abiertamente con sus amigos acerca de estos te-
mas.

e Hable. Tome una posicién en situaciones que podrian
escalar a los abusos y la violencia.
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-
cQué es el Acoso Sexual?

El acoso sexual se define como cualquier propuesta sexual no
deseada, requerimiento de favores sexuales, o cualquier conduc-
ta de naturaleza sexual, si hay rechazo o aceptacién de esa con-
ducta sexual, de manera explicita o implicita a base de que
afecta las decisiones académicas de una persona, o tal conducta
tiene el propésito o efecto de interferir sustancialmente con el
rendimiento académico del individuo, o generar un entorno
educacional que es intimidatorio, hostil, abusivo u ofensivo.
Ejemplos: el coqueteo sexual, y avances o proposiciones sexua-
les; abuso verbal de contenido sexual; comentarios degradan-
tes acerca de la apariencia o la ropa de una persona; exhibicién
de objetos, o fotografias que sugieran o sean de contenido
sexual; bromas o conversaciones de naturaleza sexual, comen-
tarios estereotipados por razones de edad o sexo; amenazas,
demandas, o propuestas de someterse a requerimientos sexua-
les a fin de obtener beneficios o evitar la pérdida de la condicién
educativa.

cQué es el asalto sexual?

El asalto sexual es un crimen y no sera tolerado a SCSU. El
asalto sexual puede ocurrir a través de la fuerza fisica, o la
amenaza del uso de la fuerza. Penetracién sexual indole por via
vaginal, anal o bucal, incluido con un objeto, todos estos son
considerados violacién. El contacto con la area genital, la ingle,
los muslos interiores, los gluteos o los senos de una persona con
el proposito de ejercer dominio o para degradar o humillar a la
victima. También es tocar deliberadamente a una persona de
manera sexual sin el consentimiento de la persona. Toda
persona puede ser la victima o el perpetrador. El asalto sexual
no se trata de deseo se trata de la dominacion sobre la victima.
Ejemplos: las violaciones, las tentativas de violacién, y/o
tocando intencionalmente el cuerpo de una persona sin su
consentimiento.

¢Qué es la Violencia Entre Pareja?

La violencia entre la pareja o la violencia doméstica se refiere al
comportamiento de la pareja o ex pareja que resulte en dafio o
sufrimiento fisico, sexual o psicolégico pueden ser calificados del
asalto sexual, el acecho, o la violencia doméstica. Ejemplos:
abusos fisicos (empujar, abofetear, estirar el cabello, forzarla al
uso de alcohol y/o drogas); abuso sexual (contacto sexual por la
fuerza o sin consentimiento); abuso emocional (la critica cons-
tante, apodos), abuso psicolégico (Causar temor por intimida-
cién, destruccion de mascotas y propiedades, el aislamiento de
amigos, familia, escuela y/o trabajo).

¢Qué es el Acheco?
El Acecho, es participar en "un patrén de conducta dirigido a una
persona especifica, lo que podria causar que una persona
razonable tenga temor por su propia seguridad o sufra
importantes danos emocionales. Ejemplos: enviar regalos no
deseados, llamadas telefénicas, los mensajes de texto y los
mensajes de correo electronico; esperando en lugares como el
trabajo, la escuela, donde pasas el tiempo libre, donde trabaja/
vaya a la escuela/pasar el tiempo; usar otras personas como un
método investigar su vida (mirando a su facebook por anadir
amigos tuyos); hacer dafo (o destruir) su casa, el coche, otros
propietarios tuyos; usando las redes sociales/ la tecnologia para
perseguirte.

- P
¢Qué es la explotacion sexual?

La explotacion sexual sucede cuando una persona se aprovecha
sin consentimiento o de un modo abusivo para la ventaja o el bene-
ficio de otra persona (no la persona que esta siendo abusada) y que
el comportamiento no constituye otra forma de uno de los delitos
de conducta sexual inapropiada precedentes.

Ejemplos: prostituir a otra persona; grabacion de actividad sexual
sin consentimiento en video o fotografia, la distribucién sin consen-
timiento de fotos o informacién sobre la actividad sexual, mas alla
de los limites del consentimiento (un individuo permitiendo que
amigos se escondan en el armario para verlo o verla teniendo rela-
ciones sexuales sin que su pareja lo sepa).

cQué es el consentimiento?

El consentimiento se definia como un acuerdo claro y dispuesto por
parte de todos los involucrados participar en un acto sexual. No es

la ausencia del término “no” o la resistencia - es una persona dicien-
do activamente “Si”. El consentimiento es en curso y permite para la

revocacion en cualquier momento sin temor de la humillacién o la
represalia. Solo porque usted puede haber sido practicado el sexo
previamente con dicha persona no significa que usted ha recibido
consentimiento para contacto sexo futuro. No pueda obtenerse el
consentimiento si obligaban, amenazaban, intimidaban, o forzaban
a la persona. Es responsabilidad de la persona que esta iniciando el
contacto sexual de obtener el consentimiento. No pueda otorgarse
tal consentimiento si una persona esta baja los efectos de las drogas
o el alcohol, o si la persona estda dormido o inconsciente. El acto
sexual con una persona que no puede dar su consentimiento se
considera una violacién.

Derechos de_la_s victimas/
sobrevivientes

Ser tratado con respeto y dignidad.

Tenga conversaciones confidenciales con el personal de Servicios
de Consejeria de SCSU @ 203.392.5475 y Centro de Salud @
203.392.6300 y conversaciones confidenciales limitadas
(confidenciales a menos que sea citado) con la Defensora
Universitaria de Victimas, Catherine Christy en el Centro de
prevencion de la violencia, de asistencia y apoyo a las Victimas @
203.392.6946 (0), 203.687.1252 (c).

Ser informado de sus derechos del Titulo IX, opciones para
reportes/denuncias, y servicios de apoyo.

No ser juzgado en base a su raza, edad, clase social, género,
expresion de género u orientacion sexual.

Pida que un defensor le acompane a examenes médicos, a la
policia, y a los procedimientos judiciales.

Solicitar que alguien de confianza se puede quedar con usted
durante un examen meédico o un Kit de.

Hacer preguntas y obtener respuestas sobre las pruebas,
examenes, medicamentos, tratamientos o informes de la policia.

Asistencia con un plan de viviendo en campus, clases, horario de
trabajo y otros alojamientos tras un incidente a cualquier extreme
posible y razonable.

Ser considerado una victima / sobreviviente, independientemente
de su relacion con el agresor.

Busque la ayuda de la policia o empleados de la universidad sin
temor a medidas disciplinarias por una violacién de la politica de
drogas / alcohol en campus.

Lo que debe hacer inmediatamente
después de un incidente

1. Ir a un lugar seguro. Si no esta seguro, llame a la Policia
de la universidad @ 203.392.5375 0 911
2. Preservar toda evidencia.

Acoso sexual y acecho:

Guardar regalos, correos electrénicos, mensajes de texto, y
crear un registro de toda la actividad sospechosa.
Violencia de pareja:

Documentar todos los incidentes en un registro, asi como
tomar fotografias de las lesiones fisicas y guardar en un
lugar que el abusador no pueda encontrar.

Asalto Sexual:

Guarde toda la ropa de la época del asalto; no limpiarse,
banarse, ducha, o cepillarse los dientes.

Usted puede traer a una persona de apoyo de su eleccién
con usted al hospital para tener una serie de recolecciéon de
evidencia (Yale New Haven Hospital @ 203.688.2222, o
Hospital of Saint Raphael @ 203.789.3000), incluyendo
un amigo o abogado del Centro de la Mujer y la Familia.
Incluso si usted esta indeciso acerca de si o no desea pre-
sentar una denuncia policial, se le anima a tener pruebas
recogidas tan pronto como sea posible (dentro de 5 dias,
pero lo mejor dentro de 3 dias).

No es necesario presentar un informe de la policia con el fin
de tener el kit de recoleccién de evidencia realizado.

Hay tiempo para cambiar de opinién a presentar un infor-
me, pero hay poco tiempo para reunir pruebas.

Esta es la mejor manera de mantener sus opciones abiertas
para el futuro. Tenga en cuenta que el kit es sin costo al-
guno para usted o su seguro.

Explotacién sexual:

Guarde copias de los videos en un disco duro externo, im-
primia y guarde copias de los sitios web o redes sociales,
guardar cualquier tipo de comunicaciéon con respecto a las
imagenes de explotacién, y documentar todos los incidentes
en un registro.

3. Obtener atenciéon médica. Independientemente de si
usted decide tener evidencia recopilada, usted todavia tiene
la opcién de obtener medicamentos para prevenir las infec-
ciones de transmisién sexual y / o el embarazo, y la aten-
ci6on médica general, todos disponibles en el Centro de Sa-
Iud SCSU @ 203.392.6300.

RECUERDE: Usted nunca tiene la culpa. Acoso
Sexual, Asalto Sexual, violencia en la pareja, el
acecho y la explotacion sexual se tratan del po-
der y el control, y no son causados por algo que
has hecho, lo que llevabas puesto, o su relacion
con el agresor.
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Southern Comnecticut State University
Support and Resource Team
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RESOURCE
TEAM

What is SART?
The SCSU Support and Resource Team (SART) provides a collaborative victim-

centered team response to sexual misconduct (sexual harassment, sexual assault and
sexual exploitation), intimate partner violence (dating violence and domestic
violence) and stalking that ensures a transition from victim to survivor for every
individual whose life is affected by sexual violence. SART team members can
provide a survivor with many supportive options including counseling, medical
attention, judicial services, advocacy, referrals and general information regarding
sexual misconduct (sexual harassment, sexual assault, intimate partner violence,
stalking and sexual exploitation).

If a survivor chooses to file a police report, the University Police Department and
the Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support Center staff will assist that
person with the reporting process, empowering the survivor to make their own
decisions by providing on — and off- campus resources and offering support as
needed. The SART members can assist you in obtaining an order of protection,
applying for a temporary restraining order, civil protection order, or seeking
enforcement of an existing order. Southern Connecticut State University shall not
disclose the identity of the complainant or the accused, except as necessary or as
permitted under state or federal law.

Assistance with on-campus living arrangements, classes, work schedule and other
accommodations following an incident will be provided to whatever extent possible
and reasonable.
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Key Definitions
Taken from the Board of Regents Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and

Processes Policy
Consent is the equal approval, given freely, willingly, and knowingly to each participant
to desired sexual involvement. Consent is an affirmative, conscious decision — indicated
clearly by words or actions — to engage in mutually accepted sexual contact. Consent
cannot be assumed because there is no physical resistance or other negative response. A
person who initially consents to sexual activity shall be deemed not to have consented to
any such activity which occurs after that consent is withdrawn. A lack of consent may
result from mental incapacity (e.g., ingestion of alcohol or drugs which significantly
impair awareness or judgment) or physical incapacity (e.g., the person is unconscious or
otherwise unable to communicate consent). The existence of a dating relationship
between the persons involved, or the fact of past sexual relations between them, should

never by itself be assumed to be an indicator of consent.
Sexual Misconduct includes engaging in any of the following behaviors:
(a) Sexual harassment, which can include any unwelcome sexual advance or request

for sexual favors, or any conduct of sexual nature when submission to such
conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition to an
individual’s education or employment; submission to or rejection of such conduct
by an individual is used as a basis for academic or employment decisions
affecting the individual; or such conduct has the purpose or effect of substantially
interfering with an individual’s academic or work performance or creating an
intimidating, hostile or offensive educational or employment environment.
Examples of conduct which may constitute sexual harassment include but are not
limited to:

e sexual flirtation, touching, advances or propositions

e verbal abuse of a sexual nature

e pressure to engage in sexual activity

e graphic or suggestive comments about an individual’s dress or appearance

e use of sexually degrading words to describe an individual

e display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures or photographs

e sexual jokes

e stereotypic comments based upon gender

e threats, demands or suggestions that retention of one’s educational status

is contingent upon toleration of or acquiescence in sexual advances.

Retaliation is prohibited and occurs when a person is subjected to an adverse employment
or educational action because he or she made a complaint under this policy or assisted or
participated in any manner in an investigation.

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946
LWWJ
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(b) Sexual assault shall include but is not limited to a sexual act directed against
another person without the consent (as defined herein) of the other person or
when that person is not capable of giving such consent.

Sexual assault is further defined in sections 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-
72a, 53a-72b and 53a-73a of the Connecticut General Statutes.
(c) Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes non-consensual or abusive sexual

advantage of another for anyone’s advantage or benefit other than the person

being exploited, and that behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the

preceding sexual misconduct offenses. Examples of behavior that could rise to the
level of sexual exploitation include:

e Prostituting another person;

e Non-consensual visual (e.g., video, photograph) or audio-recording of sexual
activity;

e Non-consensual distribution of photos, other images, or information of an
individual’s sexual activity, intimate body parts, or nakedness, with the intent
to or having the effect of embarrassing an individual who is the subject of
such images or information;

e (Going beyond the bounds of consent (for example, an individual who allows
friends to hide in the closet to watch him or her having consensual sex);

e Engaging in non-consensual voyeurism;

e Knowingly transmitting an STI, such as HIV to another without disclosing
your STI status;

e EXxposing one’s genitals in non-consensual circumstances, or inducing another
to expose his or her genitals; or

e Possessing, distributing, viewing or forcing others to view illegal
pornography.

Sexual exploitation is further defined as a crime in Connecticut State Law.
(d) Intimate partner, domestic and/or dating violence means any physical or sexual

harm against an individual by a current or former spouse of or person in a dating
or cohabitating relationship with such individual that results from any action by
such spouse or such person that may be classified as a sexual assault under section
53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b, or 53a-73a of the general
statutes, stalking under section 53a-181c, 53a-181d or 53a-181e of the general
statutes, or domestic or family violence as designated under section 46b-38h of
the general statutes. This includes any physical or sexual harm against an
individual by a current or former spouse or by a partner in a dating relationship
that results from (1) sexual assault (2) sexual assault in a spousal or cohabiting
relationship; (3) domestic violence; (4) sexual harassment (5) sexual exploitation,
as such terms are defined in this policy.

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946
LWWJ
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Offenses that are designated as “domestic violence” are against family or household
members or persons in dating or cohabitating relationships and include assaults,
sexual assaults, stalking, and violations of protective or restraining orders issued by a
Court. Intimate partner violence may also include physical abuse, threat of abuse, and
emotional abuse.

Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to, slapping, pulling hair or
punching.

Threat of abuse includes, but is not limited to, threatening to hit, harm or use a
weapon on another (whether victim or acquaintance, friend or family member
of the victim) or other forms of verbal threat.

Emotional abuse includes, but is not limited to, damage to one’s property,
driving recklessly to scare someone, name calling, threatening to hurt one’s
family members or pets and humiliating another person.

Cohabitation occurs when two individuals dwell together in the same place as
if married.

The determination of whether a “dating relationship” existed is to be based
upon the following factors: the reporting victim’s statement as to whether
such a relationship existed, the length of the relationship, the type of
relationship and the frequency of the interaction between the persons reported
to be involved in the relationship.

(e) Stalking, which is defined as repeatedly contacting another person when
contacting person knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the other
person; and the contact causes the other person reasonable apprehension of
imminent physical harm or the contacting person knows or should know that the
contact causes substantial impairment of the other person’s ability to perform the
activities of daily life.

As used in this definition, the term “contacting” includes, but is not limited to,
communicating with (including internet communication via e-mail, instant message,
on-line community or any other internet communication) or remaining in the physical
presence of the other person.

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946
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stalking, sexual harassment or sexual exploitation

1. Sexual Assault a.
Forensic evidence collection is best done within 72 hours of the assault and best collected
immediately following an assault. Technological advancements are making it more likely
to collect evidence even after 72 hours; however, it is important to remember that the
more time passes between the sexual assault and reporting it to the police, the less likely

Preserving Evidence
Preserving evidence following an incident of sexual assault, dating/domestic violence,

it will be to collect physical evidence that may be very important to the prosecution of a
criminal case. Note the kit can be done up to 5 days following an assault in Connecticut.

b. To preserve evidence in the case of sexual assault, it is recommended that you do not

shower or bathe, wash your hands, use the toilet, douche, eat, drink, smoke, brush your

teeth, change clothing, or wash clothing or bedding before a medical exam. Even if you

have already taken any of these actions, you are still encouraged to have prompt medical
care.

2. Dating or Domestic Violence a. In
the case of dating violence and domestic violence, the resource you choose to report the
crime to (a doctor, the police, an advocate, etc.) may recommend ways to preserve
evidence such as logging incidents, photographing injuries, seeking medical care, etc. Be
sure to keep this information in a place that it will not be found by the offender.

3. Stalking a. Stalking is
demonstrated through a pattern of unwanted contact. In addition to logging unwanted
contact, an advocate or police officer may recommend you save and photograph
unwanted text messages, emails, letters and gifts and store them in a secure location and
one that will not be found by the offender.

4. Sexual Exploitation

a. Save copies of videos to an external hard drive, print and save copies of websites,
social media and save any type of communication regarding the images.

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946 5
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Preserving Evidence (cont)

5. Sexual Harassment a. In
addition to logging unwanted contact, an advocate or police officer may recommend you
save and photograph unwanted text messages, emails, letters and gifts and store them in a
secure location and one that will not be found by the offender.

b. Document any adverse actions that are taken against you. Keep copies of
performance evaluations that attest to the quality of your work. Document your work
and/or academic performance and any steps you have taken.

Title IX: In cases of an alleged sexual offense, when the complainant and the
accused are students, both the complainant and the accused are entitled to the
O

following:

. Be accompanied to any meeting or proceeding by an advisor or support person of
their choice, provided that the adviser or support person does not cause a scheduled
meeting to be delayed or postponed.

. Present evidence and witnesses on their behalf.

. Be informed in writing of the results of the disciplinary proceeding no later than
one business day after it concludes and retain the right to appeal the decision in
accordance with disciplinary procedures.

. Have their identities kept confidential, except as necessary to carry out a
disciplinary proceeding or as permitted by state or federal law.

. They have the right to request that disciplinary proceedings begin promptly and
know that the proceeding must be conducted by an official trained in issues relating to
sexual assault, stalking, and intimate partner violence. The judicial process will use the
“preponderance of evidence standard” (i.e., whether it is more likely than not that the
alleged incident occurred).

. Following a final determination of responsibility when the allegation involves a
rape or other sexual offense, the university judicial officer may impose any sanction or
combination of sanctions, including expulsion. Disciplinary proceedings under this Code
may be carried out before, during or after civil or criminal court proceedings against the
accused student.

. A survivor can choose to file charges with the police, the University, both, or
none. Assistance/Advocacy is available for all survivors upon their request.
Assistance/Advocacy is also available to all survivors upon their request when filing

charges concerning on or off campus incidents.
For a complete list of your Title IX rights please visit: https://southernct.edu/sexual-misconduct

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946 6



made to on and off campus support centers, including SCSU Counseling Services,
SCSU Health Services, 24 hour hotline staff members, and clergy. See pages 11 and
12 for a list of confidential SART members and local community agencies.
Retaliation
Swift and appropriate action will be taken against any member of the University
community who is found to have retaliated against any other member of the
University community because she/he reported Sexual Harassment, Sexual Assault,
Interpersonal Violence (Dating or Domestic Violence), Stalking, or Sexual Exploitation
assisted in the investigation of a Sexual Harassment, Sexual Assault, Interpersonal
Violence, Stalking or Sexual Exploitation complaint, or testified or otherwise participated
in a proceeding or hearing relating to an allegation of Sexual Harassment, Sexual Assault,
Interpersonal Violence, Stalking or Sexual Exploitation within the University.
Retaliation may include, but is not limited to, any form of hostility, intimidation,

reprisal or harassment. To report retaliation, please contact the Title 1X Coordinator
and/ or Office of Student Conduct and Civic Responsibility.

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946 7

Procedures for Reporting Sexual Misconduct
A university or local Victim Advocate and/or any SART member can assist you at
any point in the reporting process outlined below. This information is also
available at: SouthernCT .edu/sexual-misconduct
Confidential Reporting
Confidential reporting, meaning you can disclose in complete confidence, can be
O
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Formal Complaints-
STUDENT Perpetrator

Criminal Charges:

University Police
Granoff Hall
203.392.5375 or 911
2417

Charges with the University:

Paula Rice
Title 1X Coordinator
Office of Diversity and Equity
Buley Library 240
203.392.5568
RiceP1@SouthernCT.edu
Mon.-Fri- 8:30 am-4:30 pm

Or

Office of Student Conduct and Civic
Responsibility
Engleman Hall B222
203.392.6188
Mon.-Fri- 8:30 am-4:30 pm

In cases of an alleged sexual offense, when the accused is a student, both the complainant

and the accused are entitled to rights. For a complete list of Title IX rights please visit
SouthernCT .edu/sexual-misconduct/students-rights.html

Formal Complaints-
EMPLOYEE Perpetrator

Criminal Charges:
University Police
Granoff Hall
203.392.5375 or 911
2417

Charges with the University:

Paula Rice
Title 1X Coordinator
Office of Diversity and Equity
Buley Library 240
203.392.5568
RiceP1@SouthernCT.edu
Mon.-Fri- 8:30 am-4:30 pm

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946
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Silent Witness Program (Anonymous Option)*

This program is designed so that students, faculty and staff can report suspicious activity
and crimes via the Internet while remaining anonymous. If you have witnessed a crime,
or if you know of a crime that was committed or will be committed, please click here to
fill out and submit the form. A member of the SCSU Police Department will investigate
the information provided. You will not be contacted unless you provide your contact
information. All tips remain anonymous.

Visit SouthernCT.edu/silentwitness for more information on the Silent Witness Program.

* University Police will assess whether any report triggers the need for a timely warning
or emergency notification, and in limited circumstances, reports may result in the
learning of the victim’s and/or reporter’s identity.

Please keep in mind this program is intended to assist the SCSU Police Department and is
not intended for crimes in progress or for emergencies. Dial 911 or (203) 392-5375 in
those instances.

Filing Criminal Charges with Local Police

(Off -Campus Incidents)

To file criminal charges regarding an assault that occurred off campus, call the local
police where the assault occurred. The police will investigate the crime and determine the
criminal charges. Then the State's Attorney will decide whether or not there is enough
evidence to prosecute. This can result in a trial or plea bargain.

The Women & Families Center: Sexual Assault Crisis Services has court victim
advocates that are available to support you during this process. For further information,
call (203) 624-4576. The University Police and University Victim Advocate will assist
the student in these cases, if requested and able, according to University Policy and
state law.

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946 9
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Restraining Orders, Civil Protective Orders

and Protective Orders

Restraining orders and civil protective orders differ from protective orders in that
restraining orders are civil protective orders can be issued without the accused person
being arrested. Protective orders in a family violence situation are criminal and are issued
after the accused has been arrested for committing a family violence crime.

All of these orders must be issued by the court. For more information visit:
https://southernct.edu/sexual-misconduct/restraining-orders

The University Police Department will keep protective orders, restraining orders and civil
protective orders on file in accordance with state regulations. Any victim/survivor of a
sexual assault or domestic violence is strongly encouraged to contact the University
Police to verify that they have received from the court a copy of any order filed on their
behalf. The University Police Department will accept copies of any orders that can be
properly verified.

Victims are strongly advised to report any violations of these orders to the University
Police at 203.392.5375. If the violation of a court order is an emergency situation, DIAL
911 IMMEDIATELY.

For further information (protective/ restraining orders, sex offender list, etc.) on
reporting a crime and safety services see Sections Il and IV of the Uniform Campus
Crime Report found at https://wwwz2.southernct.edu/university-police/clery-report.html

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946 10
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SCSU Safety Services

Campus Watch
University Police offers an on-campus escort service 24 hours a day for your security.

Simply call the University Police Department at (203) 392-5375, state your name,
location, and destination, and, as long as your route is on university property, an officer
or a student security assistant will accompany you. For more information, please visit:

https://www2.southernct.edu/university-police/services/campus-watch.html

Shuttle Services

Currently, there are five shuttle routes that service the 10 enclosed bus stops located é
O

throughout the campus. For more information, please visit:
https://www2.southernct.edu/student-life/safety/shuttle-services/

SCSUR.ILD.E.S.

Reducing Individual Danger and Encouraging Safety-Metro Taxi URIDES Safe Card
RIDES is a program designed to offer students a safe and reliable mode of transportation
when one is needed. The Metro Taxi URide card is available to all students and allows
students to access a ride 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The program is especially
designed for circumstances when you might lack cash, but need a safe way out of an
uncomfortable situation. For more information, please visit:
https://www?2.southernct.edu/university-police/services/safe-ride.html

Rape Aggression Defense (R.A.D.)System
The Rape Aggression Defense System is a program of realistic self-defense tactics and
techniques for women. The R.A.D. System is a comprehensive, women-only course that

begins with awareness, prevention, risk reduction and risk avoidance, while progressing
on to the basics of hands-on defense training. R.A.D. is not a Martial Arts program.

For more information, please visit: https://wwwz2.southernct.edu/university-
police/services/rape-aggression-defense.html

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946 11
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Counseling Services *Confidential.............c..ccoc...... (203) 392-5475
Health Center *Confidential.............cccoceviniiiinnnenn (203) 392-6300
Marriage and Family Clinic *Confidential.......... (203) 392-6413
Multicultural Center............cooviviii i, (203) 392-5879

Resources
University Resources

Available 24 hours a day 7 days a week:
A University Victim Advocate is available 24/7 when a report is made to a campus
member.
University POlICe.........cccccvviiiecieccce e (203) 392-5375, Emergency — 9-1-1
Available Monday- Friday 8:30 am-4:30 pm:

SART Members.......cooviiiiiii e, SouthernCT .edu/sart

Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy & Support Center.... .(203) 392-6946

Interfaith Office.......cccccevieiiii e (203) 392-5331

O

Office of Diversity &EqQuity.............c.ooeiniinnnne, (203) 392-5899
WelINESS CeNEr.......ccviiiiieiee e (203) 392-7110

Local & National Resources

Available 24 hours a day 7 days a week:

e Local Police EMErgency........cccocvevveivenvsiiesineneseennenn, 9-1-1

e The Umbrella Center: Domestic Violence Services in New Haven
*Confidential 24 hour hotling........ccoovviiie (203)789-
8104

e Women & Families Center, Sexual Assault Crisis Services in CT
*Confidential 24 hour Hotline........... 1-888-999-5545(En)/1-888-568-8332(Sp)
or (203)235-4444

e The National Sexual Assault 24 Hr Hotline *Confidential............. 1-800-656-
HOPE

e National Domestic Violence Hotline *Confidential...........c.cceevrunne 1-800-
799-SAFE

Hospital of Saint Raphael........c..coocinnnmrrsnsnsssnsnssnsnns (203) 789-3000

¢ Yale New Haven Hospital......cvininicisnsnsnsnssnsesnnns (203) 688-2222

Available Monday- Friday 8:00 am-4:30 pm
State of Connecticut Office of Victim Services......1-800-822-8428

Information provided by the SCSU SARTeam, (203) 392-6946 12
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Al eDuUcdTionaL oben DISCUSSION 0N THe FACTS anb
MYTHS aBOUT THE LGBTQ+ COMMUNITY
dlD SeXudL VIOLence

FOI LUNCH, PLEASE RSVP TO Mary aT VPaS@SOUTHErNCT.ebu BY
TuesDay, MarcH 20TH a1 noon

SPONSOREDBY:




Eden You, Thoughfy Heve

AN OPEN DISCUSSION
FOR STUDENTS ON

The Fon-Do's and Don'ts
of Healthy Sex

é__,__.é

Thursday, February 15, 2018

1:00-2:30PM

Student Center Room 201

Facilitated by the Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support
(VPAS) Center and The Wellness Center
[Please direct any questions to Vpas@southernct.edu]



Enter Your Thouthrc; Here

FOR LUNCH, RSVP TO MARY AT VPAS@SOUTHERNCT.EDU
BY TUESDAY, FEBRUARY 27 AT NOON

WALK INS WELCOME, BUT LUNCH MAY NOT
BE GUARANTEED UNLESS YOU RSVP




'(Survivor Art Installation”

An installation of recreated outfits based on

stories of student survivors to respond to one
OF the most widespread myths of rape cuiture.

Frea admission,
November 14" 10:00am-3:00pm

Engleman Rotunda

November 15" 10:00am-3:00pm

Moore Field House

November 16" 10:00am-3:00pm

Adanti Student Center Plaza Level

Sensitive content, Attendeas may ieave
at any time.

This program is a part of Social Justice Month.

203-392-6946
Schwartz Hall
vpas@southernct.edu




Cosponsored by the VPAS Center, Department of Residence Life and SART.

Contact vpas@southernct.edu for more information.




Enter Your Thoughts Here:

An Open Discussion for
Students on Rape Culture

i eToo#MeTo i
INMeToo@Vie TR
] - To o3l

| eToo#MeToo#Me 5-

Thursday, April 5th: :00-2:30pm
Adanti Student Center, Room 201

RSVP to Mary at VPAS@Southernct.edu for lunch
by April 3rd at 12:00pm
Walk-ins welcome, but lunch is not guaranteed
unless you RSVP
We will be collecting new toiletries (soap,
toothpaste, etc.) that will be donated to the
Umbrella Center for Domestic Violence

Services (UCDVS) emergency safe houses

Sponsored by:
The Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support (VPAS ) Center



TAKE BACK THE NIGHT

EMBRACE
YOURVOICE
APRIL 24,2018

Come support SCSU'’S 21st annual WITH KEYNOTE SPEAKER
Take Back the Night,an empowering Sabrina Salnt Juste

event dedicated to giving survivors of

sexual violence a voice!

L

Join us for a march, rally, keynote e
speaker, student performance and

open mic speak-out!

MARCH BEGINS AT 6:45PM
DUNKIN’ DONUTS PATIO

RALLY BEGINS AT 7PM
RESIDENCE LIFE QUAD

Rain location: Farnham Programming Space

e

CLASS OF 2018
SPONSORED BY , PEACE PEER EDUCATOR
VPAS Center, SART, Office of Residence Life, PEACE, Counseling
Services, Tau Kappa Epsilon. Delta Phi Epsilon, Alpha Sigma Alpha, SURVIVOR
NOTEorious, Public Health Department, Beta Mu Sigma, Athletics,
Greek Life, University Police, Office of Diversity & Equity, Office of
Student Conduct and Civic Responsibility, Student Affairs, Office of For more information, please contact
Student lnvolvement and Leadership Development, Women and

Khr

Violence Prevention,Victim Advocacy
Families Center and Umbrella Center for Domestic Violence




APPENDIX C

Other Supplemental Information



ON CAMPUS » 24/7

eUniversity Police 203-392-5375 or 911

eUniversity Victim Advocates -Catherine Christy
For sexual misconduct cases, hazing, bullying and all
crimes. 203-392-6946 office * 203-687-1252 cell

eUniversity Victim Advocates -Melissa Kissi
For sexual misconduct cases only.
203-392-6945 office * 203-507-3751 cell

ON CAMPUS ¢ M-F, 8:30 AM-4:30 PM

*Confidential Counseling Services 203-392-5475
*Confidential Health Center 203-392-6300
*Confidential Marriage and Family Clinic
203-392-6413

*Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support
Center (VPAS) 203-392-6946

oTitle IX Coordinator 203-392-5899

*Office of Diversity and Equity 203-392-5899
*Office of Student Conduct and Civic Responsibility
203-392-6188

*Human Resources

Diane Mazza (for employees) V PA S
203-392-5405

eMulticultural Center RESOURCE
203-392-5879 GUIDE
eInterfaith Office 203-392-5331
*SouthernCT.edu/sart

OFF CAMPUS » 24/7

*Women & Families Center, 24-hour hotline
1-888.999.5545
Spanish 1-888-568-8332 Confidential

*The Umbrella Center for Domestic Violence
Services 24-hour hotline 203.789.8104
Confidential

STATE RESOURCES
*Office of Victim Advocacy ct.gov/ova

*Office of Victim Services jud.ct.gov/crimevictim

WSouthem Connecticut
HilIN State University
SC

SU SouthernCT.edu/vpas

YOU ARE NOT ALONE-
WE ARE HERE TO HELP!

VPAS.

VIOLENCE PREVENTION,
VICTIM ADVOCACY
AND SUPPORT CENTER

Southern Connecticut
State University

S_LI SouthernCT.edu/vpas
203-392-6946

WHAT IS V.P.AS.?

The Violence Prevention, Victim
Advocacy and Support Center
(V.P.A.S.) is committed to helping to
create a campus community of
respect and safety by providing
violence prevention education,
victim advocacy and support
services.

Prevention education topics include
sexual misconduct (sexual
harassment, sexual assault, intimate
partner violence, stalking, sexual
exploitation), bystander intervention,
hazing, bullying and safety.

Advocacy services are available to
support students who have
experienced sexual misconduct,
hazing, bullying or any other crime.

We know that being on a campus
that encourages responsibility to self
and others, is essential for students
to achieve their academic and
personal goals.

WHAT IS S.A.R.T.?

Southern Connecticut State
University's Sexual Assault Resource
Team (SART) is designed to provide a
collaborative victim-centered team
response to sexual misconduct
(sexual harassment, sexual assault,
domestic violence, dating violence,
stalking, and sexual exploitation).

S.A.R.T.’s mission is to provide sup-
port and services that ensure a
transition from victim to survivor for
every individual whose life is
impacted by sexual violence.

Contact S.A.R.T. Coordinator

Catherine Christy at
ChristyCl@SouthernCT.edu, or

(203) 392 - 6946 or visit
SouthernCT.edu/sart



WHAT IS SEXUAL HARASSMENT?

Sexual harassment is any unwelcome sexual
advance or request for sexual favors, or any conduct
of a sexual nature when submission to or rejection of
such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a
basis for academic decisions affecting the individual
or such conduct has the purpose or effect of
substantially interfering with an individual’s
academic performance, or creating an intimidating,
hostile, or offensive educational environment.

WHAT IS SEXUAL ASSAULT?

Sexual assault is compelling by force, or threat f
force: sexual penetration of the vagina, anus, or
mouth including by an object, which are all
considered rape; or contact with a person’s genital
area, groin, anus, inner thighs, buttocks, or breast
for the purpose of exerting control or for the purpose
of degrading or humiliating the victim. It is also
intentionally subjecting another to such contact
without consent.

WHAT IS INTIMATE PARTNER VIOLENCE?

Intimate partner violence is any physical or sexual
harm against an individual by a current or former
spouse or person in a dating relationship that may
be classified as sexual assault, stalking, or domestic
violence.

WHAT IS STALKING?

Stalking is engaging in a course of conduct directed
at a specific person that would cause a reasonable
person to fear for their safety, or suffer substantial
emotional distress

WHAT IS SEXUAL EXPLOITATION?

Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes
non-consensual or abusive sexual advantage of
another for anyone’s advantage or benefit other than
the person being exploited, and that behavior does
not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual
misconduct offenses.

WHAT IS CONSENT?

Consent is when all parties involved willingly agree to
a specific sexual act. It is not the absence of “no” or
of resistance— it is someone actively saying “yes”
through word or actions. Consent is ongoing and
allows for withdrawal of consent at any time without
fear of humiliation or retaliation. Just because you
may have been sexually active with the person before
does not mean that you have consent for future sex-
ual contact. Consent cannot be given if forced,
threatened, intimidated, or coerced. Obtaining
consent is the responsibility of the person initiating
the sexual contact. Consent cannot be given when
under the influence of alcohol or drugs, or if the
person is asleep or unconscious. Having sexual
intercourse with someone who cannot consent is
rape. For further information on sexual
misconduct, reporting options and advocacy
services visit SouthernCT.edu/sart or
SouthernCT.edu/sexual-misconduct

WHAT IS HAZING?

Hazing is an act which endangers the mental or physical
health or safety of a student, or which destroys, damages,
or removes public or private property for the purpose of
initiation or admission into, affiliation with or as a
condition for continued membership in a group or
organization. The express or implied consent of the victim
will not be a defense to an allegation of hazing. Consenting
to the activity by remaining silent or not objecting in the
presence of hazing is not a neutral act and is also a
violation of the Student Code of Conduct. Visit
SouthernCT.edu/offices/judicialaffairs/codeofconduct

WHAT IS BULLYING?

Bullying is offensive or disorderly conduct which causes
interference, annoyance, or alarm or recklessly creates a
risk thereof at CSCU or CSCU premises, CSCU web or
social media sites, at a CSCU-sponsored activity, or in
college or university courses, including cyber bullying.
This offense does not apply to speech or other forms of

constitutionally protected expression. Bullying is deliberate
hurtful behavior to someone as a single incident or over a
period of time. It can be either physical, verbal, indirect,

or a combination of any of these forms. Often it includes
one or more of the following:

* Intimidation ¢ Exclusion « Rumor-spreading

* Name-calling * Anonymous messages

CRIME VICTIMS IN CONNECTICUT

C.G.S.Sec.1-1k: Except as otherwise provided by the
general statutes, “victim of crime” or “crime victim” means
an individual who suffers direct or threatened physical,
emotional or financial harm as a result of a crime. There
are resources and support available for crime victims.

Advocates can help by providing personal support, assist
in identifying and using campus, community and state
resources, and can accompany a victim/survivor to court
hearings, appointments, meetings, etc. or serve as a
liaison.

IT’S ON US

In order to address the issues of violence prevention, all
members of the campus community and outside agencies
must work together. Public safety is everyone’s responsibil-
ity. By increasing our knowledge and acknowledging our
ability to make a difference at SCSU, we can begin to re-
duce the risk. Consider the following ways you can help to
stop violence:

© DON’T BE AFRAID
TO GET INVOLVED.

® TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF
AND YOUR FRIENDS.

® TALK OPENLY WITH FRIENDS
ABOUT THESE ISSUES.

©® SPEAK UP. TAKE A STAND
SAFELY IN SITUATIONS
THAT COULD ESCALATE
TO ABUSE AND VIOLENCE.

~.

V.PAS.

——

' ANNUAL

\

" EVENTS

RED FLAG CAMPAIGN

During this semester—long event, V.P.A.S. helps to spread
awareness of red flags in a situation or relationship,

and how to identify and confront them. Signs and

red flags with stories written by students are positioned
around campus.

TAKE BACK THE NIGHT

This annual rally against sexual violence has been held
on campus since 1998. The empowering event includes
guest speakers, a speak-out, and a campus march.

“IT’S ON US” FEST

This festival has interactive games, prizes, and information
on violence prevention. Learn about the “It’s On Us”
campaign, aimed at raising awareness and encouraging
students to take a stand against sexual violence and create
a campus environment of safety and respect.

WAYS TO HELP

Peer Education: Our peer educators are role models for
making the campus a safer, more respectful place for ALL
students by facilitating discussions on bystander
intervention. Contact V.P.A.S. if you are interested in
learning more and being trained as a peer educator!

Volunteers Wanted! Our student volunteers are a critical
part of the work V.P.A.S. does. If you are interested in
assisting with anything, from creating flyers to staffing
events, contact V.P.A.S. for more information.

!SOU t.]'!L.I"T! C{)nﬂt’:ﬁﬁﬂlt St(m Unh’emit}' Advocates are available 24/7. See resources panel for more information. SouthernCT. edu /Vpas




Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support (VPAS) Center Information Page 1 of 2

You are viewing the legacy website. Visit the new website at www.SouthernCT.edu
(http://www.southernct.edu).

Navigate this Sectionw

Southern Connecticut State University (http://www.southernct.edu/) >
Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support (VPAS) Center (/vpas/) >

Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support (VPAS) Center Information

VIOLENCE PREVENTION, VICTIM ADVOCACY AND
SUPPORT (VPAS) CENTER INFORMATION

The Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support Center (VPAS) is committed to helping to create
a campus community of respect and safety by providing violence prevention education, victim advocacy
and support services. We know that being in an environment that encourages responsibility, to self and
others, is essential for students to achieve their academic and personal goals. Please click here
(/vpasf/files/documents/VPAS%20Brochure.pdf) for a copy of our brochure.

Our violence prevention education efforts include information that will help students to:

build and sustain healthy relationships with intimate partners, friends, fellow students and university
community members

identify sexual misconduct and consent

identify sexual misconduct campus and community advocates, resources, reporting options and Title
IX rights.

identify perpetrator behavior and risk reduction tips
identify tools to safely intervene as a bystander

identify the rights available for survivors of criminal acts

Advocacy and support services are available to all students who are survivors of violence, including
sexual misconduct, bullying and hazing. Advocacy and support is provided according to the needs of
each student survivor with the goal being to empower them and prevent victimization.

In that light, our prevention efforts, advocacy and services are designed to help create a healthier
campus community that supports the success of all of our students.

https://www2.southernct.edu/vpas/vpas-info.html 7/25/2019



Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support (VPAS) Center Information Page 2 of 2

Southern Connecticut State University
501 Crescent Street

New Haven, CT 06515

Phone: (203) 392-SCSU

Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/southernct) Twitter (https://twitter.com/scsu)

Instagram (https://instagram.com/scsugram)

Map / Directions (/about/directions.html) | Directories (http://directory.southernct.edu/) |

Feedback (https://form.jotform.com/53275880154964)

© (http://a.cms.omniupdate.com/10?skin=southernct&account=main&site=www&action=de&path=/vpas/vpas-
info.pcf) 2018 Southern

Connecticut

State University.

https://www2.southernct.edu/vpas/vpas-info.html 7/25/2019



RESPONSE PROTOCOL/PROCEDURES FOR
REPORTS OR DISCLOSURES OF SEXUAL MISCONDUCT

Statement of Policy

The Board of Regents for Higher Education (BOR) and each of its member colleges and
universities are committed to ensuring that each member of the community has the opportunity
to fully participate in the process of education and development. Southern Connecticut State
University strives to maintain a safe and welcoming environment free from acts of sexual
misconduct (see definitions on pages 5-7). It is also Southern’s goal to provide safety,
privacy and support to survivors of sexual misconduct.

The BOR has established a policy concerning Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services
and Processes (http://www.ct.edu/files/pdfs/hr-policy-sexual-misconduct.pdf). The policy
strongly encourages and supports the reporting of sexual misconduct including sexual
harassment, sexual assault, sexual exploitation, stalking and intimate partner violence. The BOR
policy requires all CSCU employees to immediately communicate to the Institutions designated
recipient (University’s Title IX coordinator) any report or disclosure of sexual misconduct
received from a student as well as disclosures or report of sexual misconduct received from
another employee when misconduct is related to the business of the institution.

As a Southern Connecticut State University employee, you may find yourself responding to a
student or other employee’s report or disclosure of sexual misconduct. This protocol is designed
to assist employees to respond effectively to such reports or disclosures. Other than those
employees with confidentiality (health providers, professional counselors, and pastoral
counselors whose official responsibilities include providing mental-health counseling to
members of the University community), all university employees are responsible employees and
are mandated to report. In the case of an emergency contact University Police at (203)392-
5375 or 911 immediately.

Responsible Employee Requirements & Rights of Those Who Report or Disclose

In an effort to be in compliance with the University’s obligation under Title IX, Connecticut
Public Act No. 14-11, and the Board of Regents Policy on Sexual Misconduct, Reporting,
Support Services and Processes all faculty, staff, and administrators, with the exception of health
providers, professional counselors, and pastoral counselors whose official responsibilities
include providing mental-health counseling to members of the University community are
mandated to report all disclosures and reports of incidents of sexual misconduct regardless of the
age of the survivor. This mandate is a result of the University’s obligation to stop the conduct,
prevent its reoccurrence, remedy its effects, provide care and support for the reporting or
disclosing person, and ensure the safety and security of our community.

In addition, the University is required to inform in a timely manner those who report or disclose
any type of sexual misconduct of all of their rights and options, including the necessary steps and
potential outcomes of each option.

In an effort to support members of our community and our obligations, the following steps must
be followed by all faculty, staff and administrators (with the exception of those listed earlier in
this section) whenever someone discloses or reports sexual misconduct. To assist, specifically,
with working with students or employees, please consider the sample script on page 3 when
dealing with these situations.



Report of Disclosure Reporting Procedures

If a student/employee discloses an incident of sexual misconduct, do not ask for any details
other than those pertaining to an emergency situation. If the student/employee shares any details
of the incident you are mandated to report them Paula Rice, Title IX Coordinator. Kindly
inform the student/employee that, while you are a responsible employee and mandated to report
any information regarding sexual misconduct, you do want to help. Your role is to
compassionately and professionally assist in helping the student/employee get the support and
resources they need.

Student Disclosure or Report

1.

While with the student, contact Catherine Christy, Violence Prevention, Victim
Advocacy and Support Center (VPAS), University Victim Advocate and S.A.R.T.
Coordinator, at (203)392-6946 (o) or (203)814-6957(c). Ms. Christy will offer
guidance and review information and procedures that can assist the student in getting
the help they may need, and will offer to speak and/or meet with the student. Ms.
Christy will also provide written, concise information to the student regarding rights,
options and possible outcomes of each option.

Once the student has been connected with Cathy Christy, University Advocate, the
administrator, faculty or staff member must submit the sexual misconduct notification
form (https://cm.maxient.com/reportingform.php?SouthernCTStateUniv&layout_id=10)
to Paula Rice, Title IX Coordinator. The questions on the form are NOT to be asked of
the person disclosing or reporting the situation, therefore, areas will remain blank.
Please make sure to provide all information that was reported or disclosed to you. If
you are a Campus Security Authority, please make sure to indicate this on the form.
Remember that if you know information, the University is also considered to know.
The University’s obligation to respond begins the moment the University is on notice
that a member of our community has experienced sexual misconduct, sexual assault, or
intimate partner violence.

Employee Disclosure or Report

1.

While with the employee, contact Diane Mazza, Office of Human Resources at (203)
392-5405. Ms. Mazza will offer guidance and review information and procedures that
can assist the employee in getting the help they may need, and will offer to speak
and/or meet with the employee. Ms. Mazza will also provide, concise information to
the employee regarding rights, options and possible outcomes of each option.

Once an employee has been connected with Diane Mazza, Office of Human Resources,
the administrator, faculty or staff member must submit the sexual misconduct
notification form
https://cm.maxient.com/reportingform.php?SouthernCTStateUniv&layout id=10 to
Paula Rice, Title IX Coordinator. The questions on the form are NOT to be asked of
the person disclosing or reporting the situation, therefore, areas will remain blank.
Please make sure to provide all information that was reported or disclosed to you. If
you are a Campus Security Authority, please make sure to indicate this on the form.
Remember that if you know information, the University is also considered to know.
The University’s obligation to respond begins the moment the University is on notice
that a member of our community has experienced sexual misconduct, sexual assault, or
intimate partner violence.




Employee Self-Report

University employees wishing to report personal incidents of sexual misconduct should contact
Paula Rice, Title IX Coordinator at (203) 392-5568. If an employee wishes to receive
information about University and community support and advocacy services he/she should
contact Diane Mazza, Office of Human Resources at (203)392-5405. To make a criminal
report the employee should contact University Police at (203)392-5375 or 911 in an emergency.

What Happens After You Notify Title IX Coordinator?

1. The Title IX Coordinator or her/his designee begins an investigation. It is important
to note, that while the institution must make every effort to reach out to the survivor
as part of the investigation, the survivor has the option to speak with the investigator
or not. This will be explained by the Human Resources/ Victim Advocacy and
Support Center (VPAS) directly to the survivor. Her or his privacy will be respected;
identities and details will be shared only with those who need to know to support the
reporting or disclosing person and to address the situation through the University’s
processes.

2. If the reporting or disclosing person is under the age of eighteen (18), the Title IX
Coordinator will contact the Connecticut Department of Children and Families to
inform them of the alleged situation involving sexual misconduct

3. If you, as a responsible employee, also serve as a Campus Security Authority under the
Jeanne Clery Act, the Title IX Coordinator will contact University Policy to report the
possible sexual assault regardless of the age of the survivor. Employees identified as
CSAs will be contacted by University Police and training will be provided.

Sample Script When Dealing With Student Disclosure or Report

“Excuse me for interrupting. It sounds like you are going to tell me about a situation involving
sexual misconduct (sexual harassment, sexual assault, sexual exploitation, intimate partner
violence or stalking) Please know that | want to help. However, if you want to continue this
conversation with me, you need to know that | am a responsible employee and | have a duty to
report this conversation to the university’s Title IX Coordinator. The university has
professionals who you can speak with about this and I can give you their information. 1 also
have information about resources for counseling, health, advocacy and reporting options. |
want you know that you do not need to share any information on the incident with anyone to
receive support and advocacy. Also, while you are here | am going to contact the University
Advocate who will help to ensure that you are getting the information and support that can best
help you at this time. You do not have to speak to the advocate unless you choose to. Is there
anything else I can do for you now?”

Confidential Resources & Confidentiality

When SCSU or any of its employees receives a report of sexual misconduct, all reasonable steps
will be taken by the appropriate University officials to preserve the privacy of the reported
survivor while promptly investigating and responding to the report. While the institution will
strive to maintain the confidentiality of the personally identifiable student information reported,
which information is subject to privacy requirements of the Family Education Rights Privacy Act
the institution also must fulfill its duty to protect the campus community.

As a responsible employee you are mandated to report and can no longer have confidential
conversations with students or employees reporting or disclosing information about their



experiences with sexual misconduct. The University recognizes the significant trust relationship
and the difficult situation you are placed in when a student/employee requests confidentiality. To
help mitigate this challenges students/employees have been informed that all faculty, staff and
administrators must share information with the University and that they have options for
confidential reporting.

Confidential resources are defined as follows: For the Universities, entities with statutory
privilege, which include campus based counseling center, health center and pastoral counseling
staff members whose official responsibilities include providing mental health counseling to
members of the University community as well as off campus counseling and psychological
services, health services providers, member(s) of the clergy, and the local Sexual Assault Crisis
Center and Domestic Violence Center.

Where it is deemed necessary for the institution to take steps to protect the safety of the reported
survivor and/or other members of the campus community, the institution will need to act in a
manner so as not to compromise the privacy and confidentiality of the reported survivor of a
sexual misconduct to the extent reasonably possible.

Information on University Reporting Options and Support/Advocacy Services
REPORTING OPTIONS
e University Police (Criminal complaints) @ (203) 392-5375 or 911

e Title IX Coordinator — Paula Rice (Student & Employee complaints)
@ (203) 392-5568
e Office of Student Conduct& Civic Responsibility — Christopher Piscitelli
(Student complaints) @ (203) 392-6188
EMPLOYEE RESOURCES
e Human Resources — Diane Mazza @ (203) 392-5405
e Employee Assistance Program (EAP) The Lexington Group Inc. 1 (800) 676-4357
Available 24/7 Confidential Service
ADVOCACY & SUPPORT SERVICES
e Violence Prevention, Victim Advocacy and Support Center (VPAS) (203) 392-6946
e University Victim Advocate- Catherine Christy -Available: 24/7
Office (203) 392-6946 Cell: (203) 687-1252
e Confidential- SCSU Counseling Services @ (203) 392-5475
e Confidential- SCSU Health Services@ (203) 392-6300
e Confidential- Women & Families Center 1-(888) 999-5545, 24/7
e Confidential- The Umbrella Center for Domestic Violence Services (203) 789-8104, 24/7

Visit https://southernct.edu/vpas/sart.html for further information including reporting
options, students’ rights, restraining and protective orders, advocacy and medical
attention.




Definitions:

0y
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Report of sexual misconduct is the receipt of a communication of an incident of sexual
misconduct accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

Disclosure is the receipt of any communication of an incident of sexual misconduct that is not
accompanied by a request for an investigation or adjudication by the institution.

Consent must be affirmed and given freely, willingly, and knowingly of each participant to
desired sexual involvement. Consent is a mutually affirmative, conscious decision - indicated
clearly by words or actions - to engage in mutually accepted sexual contact. Consent may be
revoked at any time during the sexual activity by any person engaged in the activity.

Affirmative consent may never be assumed because there is no physical resistance or other
negative response. A person who initially consents to sexual activity shall be deemed not to
have affirmatively consented to any such activity which occurs after that consent is
withdrawn. It is the responsibility of each person to assure that he or she has the affirmative
consent of all persons engaged in the sexual activity to engage in the sexual activity and that
affirmative consent is sustained throughout the sexual activity. It shall not be a valid excuse
to an alleged lack of affirmative consent that the student or employee responding to the
alleged violation believed that the student reporting or disclosing the alleged violation
consented to the activity (i) because the responding student or employee was intoxicated or
reckless or failed to take reasonable steps to ascertain whether the student or employee
reporting or disclosing the alleged violation affirmatively consented, or (ii) if the responding
student or employee knew or should have known that the student or employee reporting or
disclosing the alleged violation was unable to consent because the student or employee was
unconscious, asleep, unable to communicate due to a mental or physical condition, or
incapacitated due to the influence of drugs, alcohol or medication. The existence of a past or
current dating or sexual relationship between the persons involved in the alleged violation
shall not be determinative of a finding of affirmative consent.

Sexual misconduct includes engaging in any of the following behaviors:

Sexual harassment, which can include any unwelcome sexual advance or request for sexual
favors, or any conduct of a sexual nature when submission to such conduct is made either
explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual's education or employment;
submission to or rejection of such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for academic or
employment decisions affecting the individual; or such conduct has the purpose or effect of
substantially interfering with an individual's academic or work performance or creating an
intimidating, hostile or offensive educational or employment environment. Examples of
conduct which may constitute sexual harassment include but are not limited to:

e sexual flirtation, touching, advances or propositions
verbal abuse of a sexual nature
pressure to engage in sexual activity
graphic or suggestive comments about an individual's dress or appearance
use of sexually degrading words to describe an individual
display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures or photographs
sexual jokes
stereotypic comments based upon gender
threats, demands or suggestions that retention of one's educational status is contingent
upon toleration of or acquiescence in sexual advances.



Retaliation is prohibited and occurs when a person is subjected to an adverse employment or
educational action because he or she made a complaint under this policy or assisted or
participated in any manner in an investigation.

b) Sexual assault shall include but is not limited to a sexual act directed against another person
without the consent (as defined herein) of the other person or when that person is not capable
of giving such consent.

Sexual assault is further defined in sections 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b
and 53a-73a of the Connecticut General Statutes.

c) Sexual exploitation occurs when a person takes non-consensual or abusive sexual advantage
of another for anyone's advantage or benefit other than the person being exploited, and that
behavior does not otherwise constitute one of the preceding sexual misconduct offenses.
Examples of behavior that could rise to the level of sexual exploitation include:

e Prostituting another person;

¢ Non-consensual visual (e.g., video, photograph) or audio-recording of sexual activity;

e Non-consensual distribution of photos, other images, or information of an individual's
sexual activity, intimate body parts, or nakedness, with the intent to or having the effect
of embarrassing an individual who is the subject of such images or information;

¢ Going beyond the bounds of consent (for example, an individual who allows friends to
hide in the closet to watch him or her having consensual sex);

e Engaging in non-consensual voyeurism;

e Knowingly transmitting an STI, such as HIV to another without disclosing your STI
status;

e Exposing one's genitals in non-consensual circumstances, or inducing another to expose
his or her genitals; or

e Possessing, distributing, viewing or forcing others to view illegal pornography.

Sexual exploitation is further defined as a crime in Connecticut State Law.

d) Intimate partner, domestic and/or dating violence means any physical or sexual harm against
an individual by a current or former spouse of or person in a dating or cohabitating relationship
with such individual that results from any action by such spouse or such person that may be
classified as a sexual assault under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-70b, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b
or 53a-73a of the general statutes, stalking under section 53a-181c, 53a-181d or 53a-181e of the
general statutes, or domestic or family violence as designated under section 46b-38h of the
general statutes. This includes any physical or sexual harm against an individual by a current or
former spouse or by a partner in a dating relationship that results from (1) sexual assault (2)
sexual assault in a spousal or cohabiting relationship; (3) domestic violence; (4) sexual
harassment (5) sexual exploitation, as such terms are defined in this policy.

Offenses that are designated as "domestic violence" are against family or household members or
persons in dating or cohabitating relationships and include assaults, sexual assaults, stalking,
and violations of protective or restraining orders issued by a Court. Intimate partner violence
may also include physical abuse, threat of abuse, and emotional abuse.

e Physical abuse includes, but is not limited to, slapping, pulling hair or punching.
e Threat of abuse includes but is not limited to, threatening to hit, harm or use a weapon
on another (whether victim or acquaintance, friend or family member of the victim) or



other forms of verbal threat.

e Emotional abuse includes but is not limited to, damage to one's property, driving
recklessly to scare someone, name calling, threatening to hurt one's family members or
pets and humiliating another person.

Cohabitation occurs when two individuals dwell together in the same place as if married.
The determination of whether a "dating relationship" existed is to be based upon the
following factors: the reporting victim's statement as to whether such a relationship
existed, the length of the relationship, the type of the relationship and the frequency of
the interaction between the persons reported to be involved in the relationship.

e) Stalking, which is defined as repeatedly contacting another person when contacting person
knows or should know that the contact is unwanted by the other person; and the contact causes
the other person reasonable apprehension of imminent physical harm or the contacting person
knows or should know that the contact causes substantial impairment of the other person's
ability to perform the activities of daily life.

As used in this definition, the term "contacting" includes, but is not limited to, communicating
with (including internet communication via e-mail, instant message, on- line community or any
other internet communication) or remaining in the physical presence of the other person.

*Definitions taken from the Board of Regents Sexual Misconduct Reporting, Support Services and
Processes Policy revised 6/16/16
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